Current Affairs PDF

Nitish Kumar takes charge as Bihar Chief Minister for the 7th Time ; Renu Devi becomes First Woman Deputy CM of Bihar

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Nitish Kumar returns as Bihar CM for seventh time in 20 yearsOn November 16, 2020, Nitish Kumar of Janata Dal (United) party sworn-in as the Chief Minister (CM) of Bihar. He is the 23rd person to became a CM of Bihar and takes oath as 37th chief minister of Bihar. His swearing-in ceremony was administered by Governor Phagu Chauhan, along with Nitish Kumar 14 Ministers from NDA (National Democratic Alliance) took oath as Ministers.

i.Nitish Kumar has been sworn in as the CM of Bihar for Four Consecutive Terms.

ii.He is also taking charge as CM of Bihar for the seventh time in two decades.

Two Deputy CMs:

i.Four-Time BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) MLA’s (Member of Legislative Assembly), Tarkishore Prasad (Constituency – Katihar) and Renu Devi (Constituency – Bettiah) were sworn-in as Deputy Chief Ministers.

ii.Renu Devi is the First Woman Deputy CM of Bihar.


i.The election results for the 2020 Bihar Legislative Assembly Elections were announced on 10th November, 2020.

ii.NDA Alliance secured a majority in the elections by winning 125 seats and securing a majority to form Government. The main opposition Alliance ‘Mahagathbandhan’ secured 110 seats.

About Bihar:

Capital – Patna

Dances – Bidesia, Jat-Jatin Dance, Jumari Dance, Kajari Dance, Sohar-Khilouna Dance