Current Affairs PDF

Nitish Kumar first – rated for the K Veeramani Award for Social Justice 2015

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Chief Minister of Bihar, Nitish Kumar has been selected for the K Veeramani Award for Social Justice 2015 for his contribution towards social justice as Chief Minister.

  • The award will be presented by Periyar International, a Chicago-based voluntary organisation at an award function, the venue of which is yet to be decided.
  • The award carries a plaque and a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh.

Nitish Kumar first - rated for the K Veeramani Award for Social Justice 2015About Nitish Kumar
1951 born is a politician, who belongs to Janata Dal (United) party has been the Chief Minister of Bihar since February 2015 for the second stint. Earlier he served Bihar CM from 2005 to 2014.

  • Nickname – Munna
  • His socialist policies for Bihar include appointing more than 1,00,000 school teachers, heath care services, electrification of villages, paving of roads, cutting female illiteracy by half and improving state law.
  • From 1998-1999 & then 2001-2004, he served as the railway minister under PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
  • From 1999-2001, he served as the Union Agriculture Minister.


  • Single Man: The Life and Times of Nitish Kumar of Bihar authored by Sankarshan Thakur.
  • Nitish Kumar and The Rise of Bihar authored by Arun Sinha.


  • 2013 – JP Memorial Award
  • 2012 – Ranked 77th in prestigious Foreign Policy Magazine top 100 global thinkers
  • 2011 – Sir Jehangir Gandhi Medal for Industrial & Social Peace
  • 2010 – Forbes India’s Person of the Year
  • 2009 – Polio Eradication Championship Award by Rotary Internationals

About K Veeramani Award for Social Justice:
Initiated in 1996, the international award is constituted by Periyar E V Ramasami’s NRI followers in honour of his disciple K Veeramani, who is president of the Dravidar Kazhagam.