Current Affairs PDF

New Zealand win Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament 2015

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

New Zealand beat Australia in the 24th Sultan Azlan-Shah-Tournament 3-1 in the Shoot-out stages at Malaysia. The two teams were locked at 2-2 at the end of full-time.

New Zealand was put ahead by Penalty-Corner-goal from Andy-Hayward, until 29 minutes before close when Australia equaled the scores. New Zealand won the cup for the second time; first was in 2012 when they beat Argentina.


  • India Beat Korea on Penalties to Win Bronze Medal in Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament 2015
  • Devon-Manchester, the New Zealand goal-keeper was the star of the final-showdown with 3-saves at the shoot-out-stage. He was named the best goal-keeper of the 2015-event.
  • It is the first time, which a final has been won on shoot-out basis. It is also the first final between two Asia-Oceania-nations.
  • Australia has won the title 8 times (1983, 1996, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2011, 2013 and 2014).
  • Hosts Malaysian-team has never won the tournament even once. Best performance; runner-up in 2014.


About Sultan Azlan-Shah-Tournament

  • Started in 1983. Permanent venue-Malaysia (Azlan-Shah-Stadium). Converted to annual-sports event since 1998.
  • Named after 9th king of Malaysia Sultan-Azlan-Shah, a die-hard-fan of Hokey.
  • 14-nations took part in the 2015 tournament
  • India has won 5-titles in 1985, 1991, 1995, and 2009 and in 2010.


Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Highlights:

  1. Champion: New Zealand
  2. Runner up: Australia
  3. Third Place: India
  4. Best Player: Andy Hayward of New Zealand
  5. Fair Play Award (Raja Ashman Shah Trophy): Canada
  6. Top scorer: Jamie Dwyer of Australia with 7 goals
  7. Best Goalkeeper: Devon Manchester of New Zealand
  8. Man-of-the-match: Mark Knowles of Australia