Current Affairs PDF

National Sports Awards 2020 Announced; 73 Awardees in 7 Categories

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

National-Sports-Awards-2020On August 21, 2020, National Sports Awards 2020 were announced by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The awards were recommended by the Selection Committee headed by Justice (Retd.) Mukundakam Sharma (former Judge of Supreme Court of India) and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the deserving sportspersons, coaches and entities under various categories.

  • The total of 73 awardees in 7 categories will receive their awards from the President of India, Ram Nath Kovind at a specially organized virtual function from Rashtrapati Bhawan on August, 29 2020 i.e. on National Sports Day.
  • Notably, this is the first time in the history of National Sports awards that 5 sportsperson named for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award and 27 athletes for Arjuna Award.
  • Also, 8 para-sports personalities named in the National Sports Awards 2020.

Before heading towards the list of awardees, let’s have look on the 7 categories of national sports awards:

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: It is given for most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year. 
  • Arjuna Award: It recognizes consistent outstanding performance for four years.
  • Dronacharya Award: It is awarded to coaches for producing medal winners at International sports events.
  • Dhyan Chand Award: It is for lifetime contribution to sports development.
  • Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar: It is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.
  • Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy: It is given to the overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments.
  • Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award: It recognises the spirit of adventure among the people of the country.

Here is the list of awardees:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: 

Number of Awardees: 5

Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
Rohit Sharma Cricket
Mariyappan Thangavelu Para Athletics
Manika Batra Table Tennis
Vinesh Phogat Wrestling
Rani Rampal Hockey

Points to be noted:

-Rohit Sharma is only the 4th cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar (1st), Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli to be conferred with Khel Ratna Award.

Vinesh Phogat became the first woman wrestler to win an Asian Games gold medal in 2018.

-Rani became the third hockey player and first female hockey player to be recommended for this award.

Dronacharya Award:

Number of Awardees: 13

Life- Time Category

Number of Awardees: 8


Name of the Coach Discipline
Dharmendra Tiwary Archery
Purushotham Rai Athletics
Shiv Singh Boxing
Romesh Pathania Hockey
Krishan Kumar Hooda Kabaddi
Vijay Bhalchandra Munishwar Para Powerlifting
Naresh Kumar Tennis
Om Parkash Dahiya Wrestling


Regular Category

Number of Awardees: 5

Name of the Coach Discipline
Jude Felix Sebastian Hockey
Yogesh Malviya Mallakhamb
Jaspal Rana Shooting
Kuldeep Kumar Handoo Wushu
Gaurav Khanna Para Badminton

Arjuna Award:

Number of Awardees: 27

Name of the Sportsperson  Discipline
Atanu Das Archery
Dutee Chand Athletics
Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy Badminton
Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty Badminton
Vishesh Bhriguvanshi Basketball
Subedar Manish Kaushik Boxing
Lovlina Borgohain Boxing
Ishant Sharma Cricket
Deepti Sharma Cricket
Sawant Ajay Anant Equestrian
Sandesh Jhingan Football
Aditi Ashok Golf
Akashdeep Singh Hockey
Deepika Hockey
Deepak Kabaddi
Kale Sarika Sudhakar Kho Kho
Dattu Baban Bhokanal Rowing
Manu Bhaker Shooting
Saurabh Chaudhary Shooting
Madhurika Suhas Patkar Table Tennis
Divij Sharan Tennis
Shiva Keshavan Winter Sports
Divya Kakran Wrestling
Rahul Aware Wrestling
Suyash Narayan Jadhav Para Swimming
Sandeep Para Athletics
Manish Narwal    Para Shooting

Dhyan Chand Award:

Number of Awardees: 15

Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
Kuldip Singh Bhullar Athletics
Jincy Philips Athletics
Pradeep Shrikrishna Gandhe Badminton
Trupti Murgunde Badminton
Usha Nagisetty Boxing
Lakha Singh Boxing
Sukhvinder Singh Sandhu Football
Ajit Singh Hockey
Manpreet Singh Kabaddi
Ranjith Kumar Jayaseelan Para Athletics
Satyaprakash Tiwari Para Badminton
Manjeet Singh         Rowing
Late Shri Sachin Nag Swimming
Nandan P Bal Tennis
Netarpal Hooda Wrestling

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards 2019:

Number of Awardees: 8

Name of the Sportsperson Category
Anita Devi Land Adventure
Col. Sarfraz Singh Land Adventure
Taka Tamut Land Adventure
Narender Singh Land Adventure
Keval Hiren Kakka Land Adventure
Satendra Singh Water Adventure
Wing Commander Gajanand Yadava Air Adventure
Late Shri Magan Bissa Life Time Achievement

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (Maka) Trophy:

Number of Awardees: 1

Panjab University, Chandigarh

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar:

Number of Awardees: 4

Category Entity
Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent Lakshya Institute Army Sports Institute
Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) Ltd.
Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures Air Force Sports Control Board
Sports for Development International Institute of Sports Management (IISM)

Recent Related News:

World Sports Journalists Day is observed annually on July 2 to acknowledge the work of sports journalists & to encourage them to do better at their work. The day was established in 1994 to mark the 70th anniversary of the International Sports Press Association (AIPS). The year 2020 marked the 96th anniversary of AIPS. The 1st AIPS e-Conference was held on July 2, 2020 on the topic ‘’Has covid-19 affected journalists’ independence and future?”

About Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports:
Minister of State-MoS (Independent Charge)– Kiren Rijiju