Current Affairs PDF

National Safety Council’s NSCI Safety Awards 2016 presented to 70 Organisations

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

National Safety Council’s ‘NSCI Safety Awards’ for the year 2016 were presented by Mr. Bandaru Dattatreya  – Minister of State (Independent Charge), Labour & Employment on April 20, 2017 in New Delhi.

  • 434 organisations (307 factories from manufacturing sector, 87 establishments from construction sector and 40 MSME units) were in the race for NSCI Safety Awards 2016.
  • Out of 434 organisations, 70 organisations have been selected for NSCI Safety Awards 2016 in four categories viz. Sarva Shreshtha Suraksha Puraskar, Shreshtha Suraksha Puraskar, Suraksha Puraskar and Prashansa Patra. In addition to this, 12 client organizations from Construction Sector have also been awarded.

The Winners of Sarva Shreshtha Suraksha Puraskar are as follows:

Manufacturing SectorIOCL- Digboi Refinery
National Fertilisers Ltd., Panipat, Haryana
NPCIL, Kaiga Generating Station 3 & 4, Kaiga, Uttar Kannada, Karnataka
Construction SectorL & T Ltd., Rawatbhata, Chittorgarh, Rajasthan
MSME SectorGodrej & Boyce Mfg. Co. Ltd., Electricals & Electronics, Bhiwandi, Thane, Maharashtra

Mr.Dattatreya mentioned that none of the winners had a single fatal accident during the 3-year assessment period. Moreover, 41 of them did not even have a single reportable accident.

About NSCI Safety Awards:

National Safety Council (India) is operating National Safety Awards Scheme for three sectors viz. Manufacturing Sector, Construction Sector and Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSME Sector.

  • The NSCI Safety Awards are prestigious national level awards in the field of Workplace Safety, Health and Environment.
  • These awards are given to contending organisations in recognition for setting up sound Safety Management System and exhibiting consistent safety & health performance during the assessment period.

About National Safety Council (India):

  • Formation Date: March 4, 1966
  • Formed by: Union Ministry of Labour and Employment
  • Organisation Type: Self-supporting, non-profit autonomous society
  • Objective: To foster a national movement on Safety, Health & Environment, to prevent and mitigate loss of life, human suffering & economic losses and provide support services.