Current Affairs PDF

National Bravery Awards 2015 to be conferred upon 25 “Lion Hearts”

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

25 children (3 girls and 22 boys) have been selected for the National Bravery Awards 2015, which give due recognition to the children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service. They receive a medal, certificate and cash.

  • This year, two of the Awards have been given posthumously.
  • The Awards will be presented by PM Narendra Modi on 24 January, 2016.

National Bravery Awards 2015 to be conferred upon 25 “Lion Hearts”Here is the list of “Brave Hearts”

Bharat Award (Highest of the National Bravery awards)Kawduji Sahastrabuddhe (15)Sacrificed his life while saving his four friends
Bharat AwardShivansh Singh (13)Sacrificed his life in a valiant effort to save his friend from drowning in Saryu river
Geeta Chopra awardShivampet Ruchitha (8)Girl from Telangana displayed exemplary valour in saving two lives when a train hit her school bus.


Sanjay Chopra Award


Arjun Singh (16)Displayed outstanding bravery in fighting a tiger to save his mother.


Bapu Gaidhani AwardRamdinthara (15)Boy from Mizoram saved two persons from electrocution
Bapu Gaidhani AwardRakeshbhai Shanabhai Patel (13)Hailed from Gujarat, he saved a boy who accidentally fell into a deep well
Bapu Gaidhani AwardAromal SM (12)Hailed from Kerala, rescued two ladies from drowning.
National Bravery AwardsKashish Dhanani (Gujarat), Maurice Yengkhom and Chongtham Kuber Meitei (Manipur), Angelica Tynsong (Meghalaya), Sai Krishna Akhil Kilambi (Telangana), Joena Chakbraborty and Sarwanand Saha (Chhatisgarh), Dishant Mehndiratta (Haryana), Beedhovan, Nithin Philip Mathew, Abhijit KV, Anandu Dillep, Muhammad Shamnad (all from Kerala), Mohit Mahdenrda Dalvi, Nilesh Revaram Bhil, Vaibhav Ramesh Ghangare (all from Maharashtra), Abinash Mishra (Odisha) and Bhimsen from Uttar Pradesh.

About National Bravery Award Scheme:
It was initiated by the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW). The awardees will be granted financial assistance until they complete their schooling. ICCW provides assistance under its Indira Gandhi Scholarship Scheme to those undertaking professional courses such as engineering and medicine.

  • Establishment – 1957
  • Bharat Award winner gets Rs 50,000
  • Geeta Chopra Award winner Rs 40,000
  • Sanjay Chopra Award Rs 29,000
  • 3 Bapu Gaidhani awardees who get Rs 24,000 each
  • All other bravery award winners get Rs 20,000 each

Since the inception of the scheme in 1957, the ICCW has given awards to 920 brave children – 656 boys and 264 girls.