Current Affairs PDF

Narendra Singh Tomar declared the 2019 ICAR Awards in 92nd ICAR Foundation Day

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Union Minister of Agriculture Narendra Singh Tomar declares ICAR awards 2019On 16th July 2020, Narendra Singh Tomar, the Union Minister of Agriculture & Farmers’ Welfare inaugurated the Virtual celebration of the 92nd Foundation day of Indian Council of Agricultural Research(ICAR) and declared the 2019 ICAR Awards from Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi.

Key People:

Kailash Choudhary, Minister of State for Agriculture & Farmers’ Welfare, Bimbadhar Pradhan, Special Secretary & Financial Advisor (ICAR), Sanjay Singh, Additional Secretary (DARE) & Secretary (ICAR) and members and officials of ICAR participated in the virtual event.

92nd ICAR Foundation Day:

i.Books on Calves of Cloned Buffaloes, Technological Products, Diagnostic Kits, ICAR Publication and Rajbhasha Magazines were released during the virtual event.

ii.Around 161 awards under 20 categories were presented during the virtual event.

2019 ICAR Awards:

i.The National Academy of Agriculture Research Management (NAARM), Hyderabad, received 4 awards in different categories 

  • Under the Natural Resources Management & Agricultural Engineering category, Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award for outstanding Research in Agricultural Sciences and Dr Ch. Srinivasa Rao, Director, NAARM received the awards in the virtual ceremony.
  • Dr Bharat Shankar Sontakki, Head, Extension Systems Management Division, NAARM received the Swamy Sahajananda Saraswati Outstanding Extension Scientist Award.
  • Under the Cash Awards Scheme 2019 Administrative Category, N. Vijayalakshmi received the award.
  • Under the Cash Awards Scheme 2019 Support Staff Category, S.N. Rasool received the award.

ii.Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK) at Wyra in Khammam district of Telangana, received the Pandit DeenDayal Upadhyay Krishi Vigyan Rashtriya Protsahan Puraskar for its contribution to the agriculture and allied sectors along with a cash award of Rs. 7.5 lakhs.

iii.Jagjivan Ram Abhinav Kisan Puruskar or Jagjivan Ram Innovative Farmer Award is presented to Major Manmohan Singh Verka of Amritsar, Punjab, for his innovation in improving light penetration in high density kinnow orchards.

  • T. Purushothaman, a shrimp farmer, has bagged the Jagjivan Ram Innovative Farmer Award instituted by the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR).

iv.Among the Agricultural Universities and Deemed universities, Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar has been bestowed upon the Best Agriculture University Award for the rapid strides in all spheres of teaching, research, extension and innovations, ICAR- Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute, Cochi has been awarded the Best Institution Award among the large institute category whereas, the ICAR-Central Institute for Research on Cotton Technology, Mumbai has been adjudged the best ICAR institution among smaller ICAR Institutes category.

v.All India Coordinated Research Project on Sorghum, Hyderabad and All India Coordinated Research Project on Maize, Ludhiana have been jointly conferred Chaudhary Devi Lal Outstanding All India Coordinated Research Project Award 2019. Deendayal Upadhyay Krishi Vigyan Protsahan Puruskar for KVKs at National Level has been jointly bagged by Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Datia, Madhya Pradesh and Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Venkataramannagudem, Andhra Pradesh for outstanding extension/ outreach activities having significant impact in developing agriculture and allied sectors of the district.

Click here to read other 2019 ICAR awards presented in the 92nd ICAR Foundation day 

About Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare:
Union Minister– Narendra Singh Tomar
Ministers of State– Parshottam Rupala and Kailash Choudhary

About Indian Council of Agricultural Research(ICAR):
Director General- Dr. Trilochan Mohapatra
Headquarters– New Delhi

Recent Related News:

i.ICAR signs MoU with Patanjali Bio Research Institute (PBRI) for farm research, training, education

ii.ICAR & IVRI released Classical Swine Fever (CSF) cell culture vaccine in New Delhi.