Current Affairs PDF

N.K. Jemisin Has Won the Hugo for Best Science Fiction Novel

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

African-American author Nora K. Jemisin, has won the Hugo Award for Best Novel 2017 for her work ‘The Obelisk Gate’. The award was presented at the 75th World Science Fiction Convention in Helsinki, Finland on August 11, 2017.
About Nora K. Jemisin’s ‘The Obelisk Gate’:

  • ‘The Obelisk Gate’ is the second in the trilogy that started with ‘The Fifth Season’, which was New York Times Notable Book of 2015 and won Jemisin the Hugo Award for Best Novel in 2016 

N.K. Jemisin

  • The novel is about the life on a planet where the inhabitants would undergo a “Fifth Season” of catastrophic climate change every a few centuries.
  • The third book of the trilogy ‘The Stone Sky’ is due to be published later this month.

Hugo Awards 2017 – Winners List:

Best NovelThe Obelisk Gate, by N. K. Jemisin
Best NovellaEvery Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire
Best NoveletteThe Tomato Thief”, by Ursula Vernon
Best Short StorySeasons of Glass and Iron”, by Amal El-Mohtar
Best Related WorkWords Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016, by Ursula K. Le Guin
Best Graphic StoryMonstress, Volume 1: Awakening, written by Marjorie Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda
Best Dramatic Presentation, Long FormArrival, screenplay by Eric Heisserer based on a short story by Ted Chiang, directed by Denis Villeneuve
Best Dramatic Presentation, Short FormThe Expanse: “Leviathan Wakes”, written by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby, directed by Terry McDonough
Best Editor, Short FormEllen Datlow


Best Editor, Long FormLiz Gorinsky
Best Professional ArtistJulie Dillon
Best SeriesThe Vorkosigan Saga, by Lois McMaster Bujold
John W. Campbell Award for Best New WriterAda Palmer

About Hugo Awards:

  • The Hugo Awardsare a set of awards given annually for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements.
  • First presented in 1953, the Hugo Award is considered the highest honour for sci-fi works along with the Nebula Awards.
  • Hugo Awards are presented by World Science Fiction Society.
  • It has been confirmed by the Guinness Book of Records to be the oldest sci-fi award in the world.