Current Affairs PDF

Mumbai Indians beats Delhi Capital to Become Inaugural Champions of TATA WPL 2023

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Mumbai Indians defeat Delhi Capitals by 7 wickets to win the inaugural edition of Women’s Premier LeagueMumbai Indians(MI) team captained by Harmanpreet Kaur(India) defeated the Delhi Capitals(DC) led by Meghann(Meg) Lanning (Australia) to win the inaugural TATA Women’s Premier League(WPL) 2023 championship.  MI defeated DC by 7 wickets in the finals held in Brabourne Stadium at Churchgate, Mumbai, Maharastra on 26th March 2023.

  • Tata Women’s Premier League 2023 held from 4th to 26th March 2023 in Mumbai, Maharashtra.

Player of the March(finals): Natalie Ruth Sciver-Brunt (Mumbai Indians)

Awards TATA WPL 2023:

Prize money: MI, the winning team received the prize money of Rs 6 crores and the runner up, DC, received a cash prize of Rs 3 crore.

Other Awards: 

Most Valuable PlayerHayley Matthews (MI)
Orange cap winner (Top Run Scorer)Meg Lanning (DC)
Purple cap winner ( Highest Wicket Taker)Hayley Matthews (MI)
Catch of the seasonHarmanpreet Kaur (MI)
Safari Powerful Striker of the seasonSophie Devine (Royal Challengers Bangalore-RCB)
Emerging PlayerYastika Bhatia (RCB)
Fair Play awardMumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals
Powerful Super Striker of the MatchRadha Yadav (DC)

About TATA WPL 2023: 

i.The Women’s Premier League (WPL) is a women’s Twenty20 cricket franchise league in India.
ii.The Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) is the body responsible for the operation of the WPL.

Venues of TATA WPL 2023: 

The Brabourne Stadium at Churchgate and the DY Patil Stadium at Nerul in Navi Mumbai are the designated venues.

  • All 22 matches of the tournament took place in Mumbai.


5 teams contented for the inaugural Tata WPL championship:

  • Mumbai Indians
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Gujarat Giants
  • UP Warriorz
  • Delhi Capitals

WPL 2023 Player Auction:

i.The auctions for the teams took place on the 13th and 14th February 2023.

ii.The auction saw a total of 87 Players(including 30 Overseas players) getting sold and Rs 59.5 crore splurged collectively amongst the 5 franchises.

iii.Smriti Mandhana was the most expensive player. Royal challengers Bangalore got Smriti Mandhana for Rs 3.40 crore


i.The sponsors for the Women’s IPL rights for 5 years are awarded to the TATA group.

  • Tata Capital, the financial services arm of the Tata Group, was the title sponsor of the WPL 2023.

ii.Fantasy league Partner- Dream11

iii.Strategic Timeout Partner- Ceat

iv.Pouring Partner- Amul

v.Streaming Partner- Viacom18

About Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI): 

The BCCI is the governing body for cricket in India.
President– Roger Binny
Headquarters– Mumbai, Maharashtra
Founded– 1928