Current Affairs PDF

MoSJ&E Minister Thaawarchand Gehlot Virtually Launched SAGE Initiative & Portal to Support Elderly People

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On June 4, 2021, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment (MoSJ&E) Minister, Thaawarchand Gehlot virtually launched Seniorcare Aging Growth Engine (SAGE) initiative & portal to help old aged people.These benefits to the elderly people will be given by the Startups.

Fund- Rs 25 crores has been given for the FY 2021-22.

Objective – To Provide all the products and services need for the elderly people at one stop.

Responsible Ministry – Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment (MoSJ&E).

About SAGE Initiative:

i.SAGE (Seniorcare Aging Growth Engine) Initiative was launched to provide products and services to support elderly people across sectors such as health, housing, care centres, apart from technological access linked to finances, food and wealth management and legal guidance.

ii.SAGE Portal – This is the one stop access where elderly people can access all their essential needs.

Need for SAGE Initiative:

Since, the share of elders, as a percentage of the total population in the country, is expected to increase from around 7.5% in 2001 to almost 12.5% by 2026, and surpass 19.5% by 2050 & it is important to support the elderly people.


i.MoSJ&E has designed SAGE programme as per the suggestions of the Empowered Committee on start-ups for the elderly to solicit the involvement of youth and their innovative ideas for elderly care.

ii.The SAGE project is shaped on the recommendations of the empowered expert committee (EEC) report on start-ups for elderly.

Fund for Startups:

A committee will be set up to choose the start-up and allocate upto Rs 1 crore to start up for creative elderly care solution.

About Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment (MoSJ&E):

Union Minister – Thaawarchand Gehlot (Constituency – Madhya Pradesh)

Minister of State – Shri Krishan Pal Gurjar(Constituency –  Faridabad, Haryana); Shri Ramdas Athawale (Constituency –  Maharashtra); Shri Rattan Lal Kataria (Constituency –  Ambala, Haryana).