Current Affairs PDF

Montek Ahluwalia Became Member of World Bank-IMF HLAG on Sustainable and Inclusive Recovery and Growth

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Montek Ahluwalia named member of World Bank-IMF High-Level Advisory GroupMontek Singh Ahluwalia, former Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission of India and the distinguished person at the Centre for Social and Economic Progress (CSEP), was named as a member of a ‘High-Level Advisory Group (HLAG) on Sustainable and Inclusive Recovery and Growth’ formed by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

About HLAG:

i.To overcome COVID-19 and climate change, the World Bank Group and IMF launched HLAG on Sustainable and Inclusive Recovery and Growth on June 15, 2021, to help secure a strong recovery and set a path for green, resilient, and inclusive development over the coming decade

ii.HLAG will be jointly led by Mari Pangestu, Managing Director for Development Policy and Partnerships, World Bank; Ceyla Pazarbasioglu, Director, Strategy, Policy and Review Department, International Monetary Fund; and Lord Nicholas Stern of the London School of Economics.

iii.It is composed of experts from research institutions, the private sector, and governments and senior staff of the World Bank Group and IMF.

iv.HLAG will propose ideas and frameworks for strategic and practical national and global action, it intends to make proposals in two phases with focusing on deepening the analyses and formulation of actions for sustained transformation in 2022.

  1. Gita Gopinath, Economic Counsellor and Director of the Research Department, IMF is also a member of the group among others.

Recent Related News:

On April 1, 2021, the World Bank Board of Executive Directors approved a USD 32 Million (~INR 234.80 Crores) Project titled ‘Mizoram Health Systems Strengthening Project’ for improving management capacity and quality of health services in Mizoram.

About World Bank:

Headquarters – Washington DC, USA
Member countries – 189
President – David R. Malpass (13th President)

About International Monetary Fund (IMF):

Establishment–  1944
Headquarters – Washington, D.C., United States
Managing Director – Kristalina Georgieva
Member Countries– 190