Current Affairs PDF

Monte Carlo Masters 2024: Greece’s Stefanos Tsitsipas won his 3rd Monte-Carlo Singles title 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Monte-Carlo Masters from April 6–14, 2024Greek tennis player Stefanos Tsitsipas won the Singles title at the Monte Carlo Masters 2024 by defeating Norway’s Casper Ruud. This marks Stefanos Tsitsipas’ third Monte Carlo Masters title. He previously won the title in 2021 and 2022.

  • Monte Carlo Masters 2024, the 117th edition of Rolex Monte Carlo Masters, was held at the Monte Carlo Country Club in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France from 6th to 14th April 2024.
  • This is an ATP(Association of Tennis Professionals) Masters 1000 tournament, on the 2024 ATP Tour.

Note: The Monte-Carlo Masters is an annual tennis tournament for male professional players since 1896.

About Stefanos Tsitsipas:

i.with this win, Tsitsipas became the 5th player to win 3 or more Monte-Carlo titles joining Spain’s Rafael Nadal (11), Sweden’s Bjorn Borg (3), Austria’s Thomas Muster (3) and Romania’s Ilie Nastase (3)

  • Rafael Nadal holds the record for winning the most Monte Carlo Masters Singles titles. He won the title for a record 11 times.

ii.With this win, he is currently (as of 15th April 2024) ranked 7th on the  PIF ATP Rankings.

Doubles Winners: Belgium’s Sander Gillé & Joran Vliegen

Belgian professional tennis players Alum Sander Gille and Joran Vliegan won the doubles title at the Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters 2024 by defeating Marcelo Melo of Brazil and Alexander Zverev of Germany.

  • This is their first trophy of the 2024 season and their 8th tour-level doubles title as a team.
  • They became the first Belgians to win a Masters 1000 doubles title since Xavier Malisse at 2011 Indian Wells Masters.

Sumit Nagal Becomes 1st Indian to record win in main draw match at Monte Carlo

On 9th April 2024, Sumit Nagal, India’s emerging tennis player, defeated  Matteo Arnaldi of Italy and became the 1st ever Indian to win a main draw match at the Monte Carlo Masters.

i.He is the 3rd Indian to feature in the main draw in Monte Carlo after Vijay Amritraj in 1977 and Ramesh Krishanan in 1982.

ii.With this win, he also became the 1st male Indian singles player to win a Masters 1000 match on clay.

iii.he is currently (as of 15th April 2024) ranked 80th on the ATP ranking.

iv.He has also secured his place in the men’s singles main draw at French Open also known as Roland Garros. with this he becomes the 1st Indian male player after Prajnesh Gunneswaran (2019) to qualify for the French Open main draw.