Current Affairs PDF

MoD inked Contracts Worth Rs 2580 Cr with Indian Companies for Supply of Pinaka Regiments to Indian Army

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

MoD-signs-contracts-worth-Rs-2580-Cr-with-Indian-CompaniesOn August 31, 2020, the Acquisition Wing of the Ministry of Defence (MoD) signed contracts with Bharat Earth Movers Ltd. (BEML), Tata Power Company Ltd. (TPCL) and Larsen & Toubro (L&T) for supply of Six Pinaka Regiments to the Regiment of Artillery of the Indian Army at an approximate cost of Rs. 2580 Crores. This decision has been taken to further boost the ‘Make in India’ initiative of the Government of India in the Defence Sector.

  • The Six Pinaka Regiments comprises of 114 Launchers with Automated Gun Aiming & Positioning System (AGAPS) and 45 Command Posts to be procured from TPCL and M/s L&T and 330 Vehicles to be procured from BEML and their induction will be completed by 2024.

Key Points:

-These Six Pinaka Regiments will be operationalised along the Northern and Eastern Borders. 

-This project is under Buy (Indian) categorisation, with 70% Indigenous Content, has been approved by Raksha Mantri Shri Rajnath Singh and Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman.

-The Pinaka Multiple Launch Rocket System (MLRS) has been indigenously designed and developed by Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and productionised by the above mentioned defence industries. 

This is a flagship project showcasing public private partnership (PPP) enabling “Aatmnirbhar” in Defence technologies. 

Recent Related News:

Defence Acquisition Council (DAC) has given its consent for the capital acquisition of various platforms and equipment required by the Indian Armed Forces, Army, Navy and the Air Force, worth Rs 38,900 crore. Notably, these approvals include acquisitions of Rs 31,130 crore from Indian industry signifying Prime Minister (PM) Narendra Modi’s clarion call for ‘Atmanirbhar Bharat’ focused on indigenous design and development.

About Ministry of Defence (MoD):
Union Minister- Rajnath Singh (Constituency– Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh)
Minister of State (MoS)– Shripad Yesso Naik