Current Affairs PDF

Ministry of Shipping & Civil Aviation Ministry sign MoU to develop Seaplane services in India

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

development of Sea Plane Services in IndiaThe Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways (MoPSW) & Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA) signed an Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for development of Seaplane services in India.

  • The agreement will help in development of new water aerodromes & also operationalization of new seaplane routes in India.
  • It is expected to boost the tourism service & promote eco-friendly transportation in India.

Key Points

i.A total of 28 seaplane routes and 14 water aerodromes across the country are currently in  various stages of development at a cost of Rs.450 crore.

ii.The MoU provides for development of Non Scheduled/Scheduled operation of seaplane services within territorial jurisdiction of India under RCS-UDAN (Regional Connectivity Scheme-Ude Desh ka Aam Naagrik) scheme.

  • A Co-ordination Committee with officials of MoCA, MoPSW and Ministry of Tourism (MoT) will be set up for timely completion of operationalisation of Seaplane services.
  • RCS-UDAN is a scheme of MoCA which aims to make air travel affordable.

iii.MoPSW will identify and develop WaterFront infrastructure of Aerodromes/locations and obtain required statutory clearance for starting seaplanes operations.

iv.MoCA will provide funds/financial support in respect of water aerodromes awarded under RCS-UDAN scheme.

Recent Related News:

November 10, 2020, The Government of India plans to set up 14 water aerodromes across India under the RCS-UDAN scheme of the Ministry of Civil Aviation(MoCA). This follows the launch of the first seaplane service between the Statue of Unity in Kevadiya of Narmada Gujarat and Sabarmati Riverfront in Ahmedabad.

About Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways (MoPSW)
Minister of State (Independent Charge) – Mansukh Mandaviya (Rajya Sabha – Gujarat)

About Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA)
Minister of State (Independent Charge)  – Hardeep Singh Puri (Rajya Sabha- Uttar Pradesh)