Current Affairs PDF

Minister of Labour & Employment Presents Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar , National Safety Awards and National Safety Awards Mines

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Shri Bhupender Yadav presents Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar

The Union Minister of Labour & Employment and Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Bhupender Yadav, presented Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar (VRP), National Safety Awards (NSA) for the performance year 2018, and National Safety Awards (Mines) for the contest years 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

i.A total 96 VRP  were presented for the performance year 2018, A total 141 NSA were given (80 winners & 61 runners-up) and 144 candidates got the NSA (Mines).

About the awards:

i.National Safety Awards (Mines)  –

It aims to promote a competitive spirit amongst mine operators. It operated by the Directorate General of Mines Safety (DGMS), Dhanbad since 1983.

ii.Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar (VRP)-

It is awarded in recognition of outstanding suggestions given by a worker or group of workers in the industrial undertakings where “Suggestion Schemes” are in operation. 

  • The VRP & NSA have been operated by  the Directorate General Factory Advice Service & Labour Institutes (DGFASLI), Mumbai under the  MoL&E  since 1965. 

iii.National Safety Awards (NSA)– 

it is given in recognition of outstanding safety performance of industrial establishments, construction sites, ports and installations under the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB).

  • The awards are given under twelve schemes, out of which ten are meant for factories/ construction sites/ installations under AERB and two are for ports. 

About Ministry of Labour & Employment ( MoL & E ): 

Union Minister- Bhupender Yadav ( Rajya Sabha Rajasthan )
Minister of State- Rameswar Teli ( Constituency Dibrugarh , Assam )