Current Affairs PDF

Meltwater Champions Chess Tour 2022: Magnus Carlsen Wins finals defeating Jan-Krzysztof Duda

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Carlsen Wins Champions Chess Tour by defeating Jan-Krzysztof DudaOn 20th November 2022, World Champion Magnus Carlsen of Norway defeated Poland’s  Jan-Krzysztof Duda in the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour (MCCT) finals 2022 held at the SHACK15 venue in San Francisco, United States of America(USA).

  • MCCT 2022 is a series of 9 online chess tournaments that started on 19th February 2022 and ended on 20th Novmber 2022.

MCCT 2022 Prize: 

  • The total prize fund of MCCT 2022 is USD 1.6 million.
  • The total prize fund for the MCCT 2022 finals is USD 210,000. Each win in the round-robin event was worth USD 7,500.

Highlights of MCCT 2022 finals: 

i.In the MCCT 2022 finals, Magnus Carlsen secured first place with a round to spare. He finished the tournament with a 7th staring win.

ii.Filipino-born American chess player Wesley So, who lost to Anish Giri, remained in second place, followed by Le Quang Liem of Vietnam in 3rd and Jan-Krzysztof Duda on 4th place.

iii.Indian Grandmaster Rameshbabu Praggnanandhaa(R Praggnanandhaa) defeated compatriot Arjun Erigaisi in the 7th & final round of the tour to finish 5th in the final standing.

MCCT 2022 Finals standing & Prize money: 

1Magnus Carlsen50000
2Wesley So32500
3Liem Le27500
4Jan-Krzysztof Duda25000
5R Praggnanandhaa22500

Key Points:

i.Magnus Carlsen tops the overall tour standing having won five of the nine events

conducted as a part of the 2022 tour. Jan-Krzysztof Duda finished 2nd winning 2 events during the tour.

ii.Magnus Carlsen has earned USD 242,400 in total Tour earnings while Jan-Krzysztof Duda has won USD 162500 for 2nd place.

2022 Tour Standing:

1Magnus Carlsen242500
2Jan-Krzysztof Duda162500
3R Praggnanandhaa129000
4Liem Le123000
5Anish Giri91750

Winners of the MCCT 2022(event wise): 

Airthings MastersMagnus CarlsenIan Nepomniachtchi
Charity CupMagnus CarlsenJan-Krzysztof Duda
Oslo Esports CupJan-Krzysztof DudaLiem Le
Chessable MastersDing LirenR Praggnanandhaa
FTX Road to MiamiLevon AronianWei Yi
FTX Crypto CupMagnus CarlsenR Praggnanandhaa
Julius Baer Generation CupMagnus CarlsenArjun Erigaisi
Aimchess RapidJan-Krzysztof DudaShakhriyar Mamedyarov
Meltwater Champions Chess Tour FinalsMagnus CarlsenJan-Krzysztof Duda