Current Affairs PDF

Mathematician Amalendu Krishna won 2015 Ramanujan Prize

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Italy, the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, and the International Mathematical Union (IMU) joinly awarded the 2015 Ramanujan Prize to Hindu Mathematician Dr. AMALENDU KRISHNA, Professor of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.
• He was awarded with this award for his outstanding contributions in the area of algebraic cycles, algebraic K-theory and the theory of motives.
• He was awarded the Swarnajayanti Prize in Mathematical Sciences from the Government of India in 2011.
• The Ramanujan Prize is awarded annually to a researcher from a developing country who is less than 45 years of age, and who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country.
• Ramanujan Prize is a mathematics prize awarded annually by the International Centre for Theoretical Physics and named after the mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan.
• It was founded in 2004.
• The prize is supported by the Ministry of Science and Technology (India) and Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters through the Abel Fund, with the cooperation of the International Mathematical Union.
• The first award was given to Marcelo Viana of Brazil in 2005.