Current Affairs PDF

Longtime Oscar director Marty Pasetta aged 82 passes away

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Marty Pasetta, a veteran director of live TV extravaganzas including 17 Academy Awards shows, has died. He was 82.Pasetta died in  La Quinta,California.

  • Pasetta directed 17 Oscar telecasts from 1972 to 1988.
  • He also directed many Grammy Awards.
  • The Smothers Brothers Comedy hour, Elvis Presleys 1973 year ”Aloha From Hawaii” concert and many TV serials that got him 8 Emmy awards.
  • Marty Pasetta was always the go-to person for directing live shows in 60s, 70s, 80s  and early 90s according to his former publicist Jim Flood.
  • During 4 decades in TV , Pasetta directed and produced manys erials for Hollywoods biggets names like Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby.
  • He also oversaw star-studded tributes to Elizabeth Taylor, Alfred Hitchcock etc.

Marty Pasetta

  • Pasetta was born on 16th June 1932 in Sanjose,USA.
  • Attended Santa Clara University but dropped out to join KGO-TV of San Francisco.
  • Survived by his wife, son and  daughter.

About Emmy Awards

  • Emmy awards are awarded for excellence in Television.
  • First given in the year 1949.
  • It is given in USA.
  • Los Angeles based Academy of Television Arts and Sciences ATAS  established Emmy awards for piblic relations and imaging building purposes.

About Oscar Awards

  • They are also known as Academy Awards.
  • It  is annual American award honoring cinematic achievements in the film world.
  • Winners are given a copy of statuette,officially Academic Award For Merit, known by the name Oscar.
  • Presented by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
  • Oscar award was first given on 16th May 1929.
  • Some of the categories for which the award given are Best picture, Best Director,Best foreign Language Film,Best Actor/Actress in lead or supporting roles etc.
  • Oscar award winning Indians are Bhanu Athaiya, Resul Pookutty, AR. Rahman and Gulzar.
  • Satyajit Ray was given this award  as Honorary Award in 1992.