Current Affairs PDF

Lok Sabha passed bill for the Establishment of six new IITs across India

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Lok Sabha amended a bill providing for opening six new IITs, Under the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Bill 2016 on July 26. This bill enables the setting up of Indian Institute of Technology in Palakkad, Goa, Dharward, Bhilai.,Jammu and Tirupati.

What is IIT?

The Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) are autonomous public institutes of higher education in India. They are governed by the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 which Billhas declared them as institutions of national importance and also lays down their powers, duties, and framework for governance etc. The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 lists seventeen institutes located at Chennai, Delhi, Dhanbad, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Mumbai, Roorkee, Bhubaneswar, Gandhinagar, Hyderabad, Indore, Jodhpur, Mandi, Patna, Ropar and Varanasi. The Union HRD Minister is the ex-officio Chairperson of IIT Council

In addition to B.Tech, M.Tech and MS programs,this institution also offers M.Sc in Maths, Physics and Chemistry, MBA, PhD etc. Including this six new branches, this institution is spread all over India with 23 branches.


This new bill will establish IIT in the following places,

  • Palakkad, Kerala
  • Goa,
  • Dharward, Karnataka
  • Bhilai, Chhattisgarh
  • Jammu, Jammu & Kashmir and
  • Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh

This new bill also seeks to bring the Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad, within the ambit of this Act. It is noted that students from the ST and SC communities, from the Below Poverty Line (BPL) category and physically challenged have full waiver of fees in the IITs and NITs. And also those whose family income is below `9 lakh per annum also get zero per cent education loan.