Current Affairs PDF

LED Lights, Energy Saving Fans Distribution Scheme – launched by Virbhadra Singh

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh Virbhadra Singh officially launched the LED Lights, Energy Saving Fans Distribution scheme on March 29, 2017. As the part of the scheme, LED tube lights and energy-efficient fans are distributed to promote energy saving.The distribution of LED tube lights and energy saving fans is carried out under Unnat Jeevan by Affordable LEDs and Appliances for All (UJALA) scheme


The Himachal Pradesh government on September 2016, launched the UJALA scheme to distribute subsidized CLF bulbs and LED lights, which helped in saving energy worth about Rs 200 crore and the present initiative is an extension of that scheme.

UJALA scheme in Himachal Pradesh

As per the report given by Himachal Pradesh state government, 74 lakh bulbs to 12 lakh consumers had been distributed with CLF bulbs and LED lights.

  • The energy saved in the state is approximately 150 MU per annum due to UJALA UJALAscheme.
  • The cost per tube light is fixed as Rs 230 along with three-year free replacement warrantee.
  • The conventional fan is replaced with the BEE 5-star 50-watt fan, which will cost Rs 1,150, along with two-year free replacement warranty.
  • Totally 33% of energy is saved through the implementation of the UJALA scheme.

Unnat Jeevan by Affordable LEDs and Appliances for All (UJALA) scheme

UJALA scheme was launched by Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi on 1 May 2015, to replace Bachat Lamp Yojana

  • The scheme was announced as Domestic Efficient Lighting Program (DELP) which explains the importance of using LED bulbs in place of incandescent bulbs, tube lights and CFL bulbs.
  • The target of this scheme is to replace 77 crore incandescent bulbs in India with LEDs by 2019 which will lead to annual saving of over 100 million Kilo Watt and an annual reduction of Rs 400 billion in electricity bills.
  • So far 12 states have implemented this scheme.

Himachal Pradesh

  • Capital: Shimla with 12 districts.
  • Chief Minister: Virbhadra Singh.
  • Governor: Acharya Dev Vrat.
  • Formed: 25 January 1971.
  • Largest city: Shimla.