Current Affairs PDF

Laureus World Sports Awards Shanghai 2015

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Laureus World Sports Awards 2015 in Shanghai is supposed to be one of the greatest events to be held in the world-sports history. Incidentally it is being hosted by Mr. Benedict-Cumberbatch, a British-Actor and a film-producer. This is the second time that he is hosting this event. The first time was in 2014. The award-ceremony was initiated in the year 2000. 

The happiest news for the Indian sports fans is that master-blaster Sachin-tendulkar has been added into the laurels-Sports Academy.

  • Yao Ming – Retired Chinese professional basketball player.
  • Tegla Loroupe – Kenyan long-distance runner.
  • Li Xiaopeng – Chinese gymnast.
  • Yang Yang – Former Chinese short track speed skater Yang Yang.

Winners of the Year 2015 are:

  • Sportsman of the year – NOVAK DJOKOVIC
  • SportsWoman of the year – GENZEBE DIBABA
  • Team of the year – GERMANY MEN’S FOOTBALL TEAM
  • Come-back of the year – SCHALK BURGER
  • Break-through of the year – DANIEL RICCIARDO
  • Action-sports-person of the year – ALAN EUSTACE
  • Sportsperson of the year with a disablity – TATYANA MCFADDEN
  • Sport for good Award – SKATEISTAN
  • Demy Exceptioanal Achievement – LI NA
  • Spirit of Sport – YAO MING

In the year 2014, the 1st category was won by Sebastive-Vettel. The second category was won by Missy-Franklin. The best-team award went to Bayern-Munich. Rafael-Nadal won the fourth-category. MARC MÁRQUEZ won the 5th category. Jamie Bestwick won the 6th-category and Marie-Bochet took the honors in the 7th-category.

For the year 2015, the main nominees are

Category-1:- Cristiano Ronaldo, Lewis Hamilton, Rory McIlory, Novak Djokovic and others
Category-2:- Serena-Williams, Tina-Maze, Marit-Bjørgen and others
Category-3:- German Foot-Ball team, real-Madrid, Swiss-Davis-Cup team and others
Category-4:- Schalk-Burger, Francesco Acerbi and others
Category-5:- Mario Götze from Germany, James Rodriguez from Columbia, and others
Category-6:- Stephanie Gilmore from Australia, Gabriel Medina from Brazil and others
Category-7:- Tatyana McFadden, the famous Wheel-chair racer, Roman Petushkov and others