Current Affairs PDF

Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award 2014

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award is an annual prestigious award instituted from Lal Bahadur Shastri Institute of Management, Delhi.

Award is started in year 1999 and provided to business leader, management practitioner, public administrator, educator or institution builder for his/her sustained individual contributions for achievements of high professional order and excellence. This award is given by President of India.

Dr. Sivathanu Pillai has been chosen for the prestigious Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for Excellence in Public Administration, Academics and Management, 2014.

Dr Pillai is an Indian scientist who formerly served as Chief Controller of Research and Development from year 1996 to 2014 and held the rank of “Distinguished Scientist” from year 1999 to 2014 at the DRDO at the Ministry of Defence.

Dr. Pillai’s four decades of experience in ISRO and DRDO under the great visionary leaders Dr. Vikram Sarabhai, Prof. Satish Dhawan and Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam made him a Technology Leader in the field of launch vehicles and guided missiles.


Image Source Hindu

He is the main reason for the successful development of SLV-3 – India’s First Satellite Launch Vehicle. He also played a key role in the development of critical missile technologies such as Agni, Prithvi, Nag and Akash missiles under the Integrated Guided Missile Development Programme as its Programme Director.

Dr. Pillai is regarded as the Father of BRAHMOS, the joint venture between India and Russia to design, develop, produce and market the supersonic cruise missile BrahMos and he is the Chief Executive and Managing Director of BrahMos Aerospace.