Current Affairs PDF

Kumar Sangakkara set to serve second term as MCC President

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Kumar Sangakkara set to MCC presidentOn 9th May 2020, Former Sri Lanka Skipper Kumar Sangakkara is to serve a second term as the president of Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) since the activities of the club are postponed. He is the first non-British President of the Club, he assumed office on 1st October 2019 and entered the list of people who served multiple terms.

Key Points:

i.Sangakkara participated in the club tour of Pakistan his first return to the country after the terrorist attack in March 2009 on the Team Bus of Sri Lanka.

ii.In the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on the 24th June 2020, the proposal was voted and to raise funds through the new life membership scheme to keep the redevelopment of the Compton and Edrich Stands on course in COVID-19 pandemic.

iii.The membership scheme was adopted in 1926 and 1996 to fund the redevelopment of Lord’s Grandstand expected to cost between 7000 to 80000 pounds based on the age of the applicant.

iv.The traditional MMC president term is only 12 months, during World War I and World War II when Lord Hawke(1914-1918) and Stanley Christopherson(1939-1945) served for a longer period.

v.Lord’s Cricket Ground slated to hold two test Matches against West Indies and Pakistan respectively and the inaugural season of the Hundred scheduled in 2020 are now postponed to 2021 due to COVID-19 Pandemic.

vi.The domestic season scheduled for July 2020 by the England Cricket Board(ECB) is pushed back.

About MCC:
President- K.C. Sangakkara
Club Chairman- G.M.N Corbett
Founded- 1787
Headquarters- London, United Kingdom