Current Affairs PDF

Karnataka Defeated Tamilnadu to Retain the Ranji Trophy

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Karnataka defended the Ranji Trophy by defeating Tamil Nadu by an innings and 217 runs in the final match played at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai. With this victory, Karnataka clinched a total of eight Ranji titles. The man of the match award was given to Karnataka’s Karun Nair, who had scored 338 runs. In Last season, Karnataka defeated Mumbai in the finals.

Ranji Trophy

  • The Ranji Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket championship played in India between teams representing regional cricket associations.
  • The first tournament in Ranji was played in 1934
  • The most successful champion in Ranji Trophy was Mumbai (40 times). 
  • The competition currently consists of 27 teams, with 21 of the 29 Indian states.