Current Affairs PDF

Kapil Dev, Sachin Tendulkar & Virat Kohli featured in Wisden Almanck’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade list

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Virat Kohli named Wisden Almanack’s ODI cricketer of the 2010s

Famous Cricketing Magazine, Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack, has named 5 best cricketers for each decade, starting from 1970’s to 2010’s to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the 1st One-Day International (ODI) match.

The list featured 3 Indian cricketers – Kapil Dev, Sachin Tendulkar & Virat Kohli.

Note – 1st ever ODI match was played between Australia & England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 5 January 1971.

i.Kapil Dev named as ODI Cricketer for the decade – 1980’s 

  • He led India to its first ODI World Cup win in 1983.

ii.Sachin Tendulkar ODI Cricketer for the decade – 1990’s

  • He made a unique record with 9 ODI centuries in a single calendar year.

iii.Virat Kohli ODI Cricketer for the decade – 2010’s

  • He scored over 11,000 runs in that 10-year, with 42 centuries and average run rate over 60.

iv.Apart from them, England all-rounder Ben Stokes was declared the ‘Cricketer of the Year’ for a 2nd successive time.

Other Awards:

  • Muttiah Muralitharan was awarded the ODI Cricketer of the 2000s.
  • Dom Sibley, Zak Crawley, West Indian Jason Holder, Mohammed Rizwan and Darren Stevens were named Wisden Cricketers of the Year in the 2021 edition of Wisden Almanack.
  • Australia’s Beth Mooney was awarded ‘Leading Women’s Cricketer in the World’
  • West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard was named the Leading T20 Cricketer in the World.

Recent Related News:

In the International Cricket Council(ICC) Awards of the Decade (2011-2020):

  • Indian Captain Virat Kohli was awarded Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade.
  • MS Dhoni won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade.

About Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack:

Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack popularly known as the “Bible of Cricket” is an annual publication founded in 1864.
Founder- John Wisden
Editor- Lawrence Booth
Origin- London, England