Current Affairs PDF

Kannada playwright Shivaprakash honoured with Kusumagraja

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Kannada poet and playwright H S Shivaprakash has honoured with the prestigious Kusumagraja Rashtriya Puraskar and Latur-based Menka Dhumale was presented YCMOUs Baburao Bagul story writing award for year 2016 for her book “Korda Paus”.

Key Points:

Shivaparakash has given prestigious Kusumagraja Rashtriya Puraskar for his outstanding contribution to social and educational fields.

  • The award is constituted by the Nashik-based Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open Universitys (YCMOUs) Kusumagra jaadhyasan (Chair), carries a cash prize of Rs one lakh, a memento and a citation.
  • The award was presented by Akshay kumar Kale. He is the president of the 90th Akhil Kannada poet and playwright H S ShivaprakashBharatiya Marathi Sahitya Sammelan.
  • His many poems were translated in various regional languages as well as in some European languages.
  • YCMOU Vice-Chancellor is E. Vayunandan.
  • Shivaprakash, who writes in Kannada and English languages, has nine compilations of poems in his name. He has penned 15 dramas.
  • He had edited Indian literature of Sahitya Akademi and had also worked in Berlins Tagore Centre (Indian consulate).
  • Kusumagraj, after whom the award is named, was a pen name of noted Marathi litterateur late V VShirwadkar, a Jnanpith awardee

About Kusumagraja Rashtriya Puraskar

Vishnu Vaman Shirwadkar popularly known by his pen name, Kusumagraj.

  • He was an eminent Marathi poet, playwright, novelist, short story writer.
  • He was born on 27 February 1912 in Pune, Maharashtra.
  • He was awarded Sahitya Akademi Award in Marathi in 1974 and Dnyanpith Award in 1987