Current Affairs PDF Sales

Japan’s  Fukuoka Prize for historian Ramachandra Guha

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

For Japan’s most coveted prize  Fukuoka Prize in academics category, India’s famous Historian Ramachandra Guha has been selected. Others who got this prize are Thant Myint-U(Grand Prize)  and Minh Hanh ( Arts and Culture). This Fukuoka Prize honors persons who had made outstanding contributions in the fields of arts and culture,academics in Asia.

  • According to  Guha’s citation, he as a famous Indian Historian  pioneered the new horizon  of environmental history.
  • His works involve explanations  of complex history of India, country with diversity of languages, religions, castes etc.
  • Guha’s writings also clearly explains the state of Indian Democratic system dwelling on the current multi-dimensional and chaotic world.
  • Being a great writer of Indian History, Ramachandra Guha deserved to be presented with this Japans prestigious prize.
  • The award would be presented to him at the Fukuoka International Congress Centre.
  • Guha would also be delivering lecture on” Mahatma Gandhi, India and the World” .
  • Mohammad Yunus, Romila Thapar, Ashish Nandy and Mo Yan are the previous winners of this prize.

About Ramachandra Guha

  • Ramachandra Guha was born on 29th April 1958 in Uttar Pradesh.
  • He is Alma mater  of University of Delhi IIM Calcutta etc
  • He is a historian and writer with interests in cricket and also in social, political histories.
  • He is a columnists in Hindustan Times,The Telegraph and writes for magazines like The Caravan and  Outlook etc

Bibliographies of Guha

  • India Before Gandhi 2013,Patriots and Partisans 2012, Makers of Modern India 2010, India after Gandhi 2007 etc.
  • He was awarded Padma Bhushan in the year 2009 and famous Sahitya Akademi Award in 2011 for India After Gandhi.
  • Served as Philippe Roman Chair of International Affairs and History at the famous London School of Economics

Fukuoka Prize– what is it??

  • Its an annual prize given to person or organisation for their outstanding contributions to preserving or creating Asian culture.
  • Established in 1990 by the Japanese city of Fukuoka and Yokatopia.
  • Arts and Culture Prize, Grand Prize and Academic Prize form the 3 different categories of prizes.
  • Held every year in September along with the  public forums by the prize winners.