Current Affairs PDF Sales

ISRO launched six Singaporean satellites

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

National space agency Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) successfully launched six Singapore satellites and also tested the fourth stage of its PSLV rocket from Satish Dhawan Space Centre.

  • These 6 satellites were launched as part of the agreement entered into between ST Electronics (Satcom & Sensor Systems), Singapore and Antrix Corporation Limited, the commercial arm of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), government of India Company under the Department of Space (DOS).
  • PSLV C-29 lifts off successfully from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre in Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh with all 6 Singapore satellites.
  • These six satellites took the count of foreign satellites launched by ISRO to 57.
  • The six satellites carried by PSLV-C29 together weighed about 624 kg at lift-off.

The launch of six Singapore satellites came on the sidelines of 50 years of Indo-Singapore diplomatic ties & 50 years of Independence of Singapore.

Singaporean Satellites

  • TeLEOS-1
  • VELOX-CI (123 kg) micro-satellite
  • VELOX-II (13 kg) 6U-Cubesat technology demonstrator
  • Athenoxat-1 nano-satellite
  • Kent Ridge-1 (78 kg) micro-satellite

ISRO has launched 17 foreign and 4 Indian satellites 2015 including its GSAT-15 which was launched from French Guiana in November. With the latest, India has launched a total of 57 foreign satellites for 20 countries.