Current Affairs PDF

AP CM, Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy Launched Interest Free Loan scheme “Jagananna Thodu”

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Andhra Chief Minister launched 'Jagananna Thodu' scheme

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy launched a flagship scheme “Jagananna Thodu” aimed to benefit several small traders and street vendors. The Scheme is allocated with a fund of 905 Crores to benefit 9.05 lakh street vendors and traders.

Objective: To Provide Interest Free loan upto Rs. 10,000 to street vendors and marginal traders.

About Jagananna Thodu:

i.Around Rs.1,000 crore is lent to nearly 10 lakh people where the government pays interest upto 100 crore annually.

ii.QR based Smart ID cards will be provided to vendors to avail the benefits.

iii.Vendors can enroll in the scheme by dialling toll free number 1902.

iv.The loan amount will be directly credited to the beneficiary bank account.

v.The scheme will be monitored by Society for Elimination of Rural Poverty (SERP) & Mission for Elimination of Poverty in Municipal Areas(MEPMA) of of Andhra Pradesh government.


Vegetable vendors, fruit vendors, small shopkeepers, pushcart vendors, and traditional artisans & other unorganized sector vendors are eligible for this scheme.

Central Government Initiative for Street Vendor-PM SVANidhi:

i.Ministry of Housing & Urban Affair launched a scheme PM Street Vendor’s AtmaNirbhar Nidhi( PM SVANidhi).

ii.To empower Street vendors the scheme provides Collateral free loans up to Rs. 10,000 for one year.

iii.Interest Subsidy @7% per annum on regular repayment of loan

iv.Cashback upto Rs.1200 per annum on undertaking prescribed digital transactions.

v.The duration of the scheme is till March 2022, and implemented by Small Industrial Development Bank of India(SIDBI).

About SIDBI:

  • Small Industrial Development Bank of India(SIDBI) is a financial institution that provides loans to Micro Small and Medium Enterprises(MSME).
  • Founded on 2nd April, 1990 under Indian Parliament Act.
  • Headquarters- Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
  • Deputy Managing Director- Shri Manoj Mittal, Shri V Satya Venkata Rao

About Andhra Pradesh:

Chief Minister- Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy
Governor- Biswabhusan Harichandan
Capitals- Visakhapatnam(Executive), Amaravati(Legislative & de facto capital ), Kurnool(judicial).