Current Affairs PDF

Indonesia Open 2023: Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy Won Men’s Doubles 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Indonesia Open 2023 India's Satwik, Chirag bag historic Doubles title

Indian badminton players Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (World no 5) won the Men’s doubles title at the Kapal Api Group Indonesia Open 2023 (Indonesia Open 2023) by defeating 2022 world champions Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik (World no 3) from Malaysia.

  •  This was Satwik-Chirag’s first ever men’s doubles title at the Badminton World Federation (BWF) World Tour Super 1000 event and they also became the 1st doubles pair from India to win a title at Super 1000 event.

Note: Previously, Saina Nehwal (2009,2010 & 2012) and Kidambi Srikanth (2017) won the Singles title in the Indonesia Open.

Kapal Api Group Indonesia Open 2023, 41st edition of the Indonesia Open, was held from 13-18th June 2023 in Gelora Bung Karno Sports complex in Jakarta, Indonesia.

  • Indonesia Open 2023 was organised by the Badminton Association of Indonesia (PBSI) in-association with BWF.
  • The total prize money was USD 1,250,000.

About Satwiksairaj and Chirag pair:

i.They won the Gold medal at the Birmingham Commonwealth Games 2020 and bronze at the world championships 2022. They also won a gold medal at the Thomas Cup 2022.

ii.They were also the first Indian pair to win Super 1000, Super 750, Super 500, Super 300 and Super 100 events.

Viktor Axelsen won his 3rd consecutive Men’s Singles Title at Indonesia Open 2023: 

2022 world champion Viktor Axelsen (World no1) of Denmark, won the men’s singles title at Indonesia 2023, defeating Anthony Sinisuka Ginting(World no 2) from Indonesia.

  • This mark’s Viktor Axelsen’s 3rd consecutive Men’s singles title at the Indonesia Open. He previously won the title in 2021 and 2022.
  • In the semi-finals, Viktor Axelsen defeated HS Prannoy(India)to reach finals.
  • This is Axelsen’s 9th Super 1000 Title, including All England Open(2020,2022), Denmark Open(2021), Malaysia Open(2023) and Thailand Open(2020 I , 2020 II), and second title in 2023 after Malaysia Open 2023.

Other Winners: 

i.Women’s Singles:

Tokyo 2022 Olympics gold medallist Chen Yufei(China) won the Women’s Singles Title defeating Rio 2016 Olympics  champion Carolina Marin(Spain).

ii.Women’s doubles:

Baek Ha Na and Lee So Hee of South Korea won the Women’s Doubles Title defeating Japan’s Yuki Fukushima and Sayaka Hirota.

iii.Mixed Doubles:

Tokyo 2022 Olympic silver medallists Zheng Si Wei and Huang Ya Qiong of China won mixed doubles defeating Yuta Watanabe and Arisa Higashino(Japan)

Winners of Indonesia Open 2023:

Men’s SinglesViktor Axelsen


Anthony Sinisuka Ginting (Indonesia)
Women’s SinglesChen Yufei (China)Carolina Marin (Spain)
Men’s DoublesSatwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty 


Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik


Women’s DoublesBaek Ha Na and Lee So Hee

(South Korea)

Yuki Fukushima and Sayaka Hirota


Mixed DoublesZheng Si wei and Huang Ya Qiong


Yuta Watanabe and Arisa Higashino (Japan)

About Indonesia Open:

i.The first edition of this tournament was conducted in 1982.

ii.From 2018, it was given Super 1000 status by the BWF.

  •  All England Open, China Open, and Malaysia Open are the other Super 1000 events.

About Badminton World Federation (BWF):

President – Poul-Erik Høyer
Headquarters – Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia