Current Affairs PDF

Indian Shooters Elavenil, Shahu Mane Bag Gold, Silver Medals in Sheikh Russel International Air-Rifle Championship 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here


On 18th October, 2020, Indian Shooter Elavenil Valarivan won the Gold Medal in the Women’s event, while Shahu Tushar Mane won the Silver Medal in the Men’s event in the Sheikh Russel International Air Rifle Championship 2020 that held virtually.

Key Points:

i.Shooters from six countries – India, Bangladesh, Korea, Bhutan, Indonesia & Japan) participated in the 60-shot competition.

ii.Japan’s Naoya Okada won the Gold in the men’s event with a shot of 630.9.

iii.Elavenil finished with 627.5 to finish on top, while Sahu shot 623.8 to settle for the Silver Medal.

iv.21-year old Elavenil Valarivan hails from Cuddalore, Tamil Nadu.  She is the current World number one in Women’s 10m Air Rifle.

v.Shahu Tushar Mane is an 18-year old Indian Shooter who hails from Maharashtra.

Sheikh Russel International Air Rifle Championship 2020:

i.The championship was organised by Bangladesh Shooting Sport Federation (BSSF).

ii.It is being held to commemorate the Birth Anniversary of Sheikh Russel, who is the Youngest son of Bangladesh’s founding father Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, and brother of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Winners of Sheikh Russel International Air Rifle Championship 2020:

Men’s Event 

      Winners  Medal Score
 Naoya Okada (Japan) Gold Medal


 Shahu Tushar Mane (India)  Silver Medal 623.8
Baki Abdullah Hel (Bangladesh) Bronze Medal 617.3

Women’s Event: 

      Winners  Medal Score
 Elavenil Valarivan (India) Gold Medal 


Shiori Hirata (Japan) Silver Medal 622.6
Vidya Toyyiba  (Indonesia) Bronze Medal 621.1

Recent Related News:

i.January 6, 2020, The 63rd National Shooting Championship Competitions (NSCC) 2019 in Small Bore Rifle & Pistol events (including Para events) was held at Shooting Academy Shooting Ranges, Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh (MP) from 7th December 2019 – 4th January 2020.

About Bangladesh:

Prime Minister – Sheikh Hasina
Capital – Dhaka
Currency – Bangladeshi Taka