Current Affairs PDF

Indian Scientist Dr Sakya Singha Sen and team wins ‘Merck Young Scientist Awards 2019’ in Karnataka

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On January 9, 2020 Merck Young Scientist Awards 2019 in chemical science, instituted by Merck was announced in Bengaluru in Karnataka. Indian Scientist Dr Sakya Singha Sen and his team won the Merck Young Scientist Award 2019 for their specialization in main group of chemistry and synthesis of compounds with main group elements and their catalytic application.About Merck Young Scientist Award:
The award is given to the given to researchers with less than ten years of experience with expertise in solving some of the toughest problems in chemical sciences. The winners will receive a cash award of Rs 2,00,000 and Travel Award of Rs 1,50,000 each.

Recipients of the award:

i.Dr Debojyoti Chakraborty, Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi (IGIB).

ii.Dr Dipyaman Ganguly, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata (CSIR-IICB).

iii.Dr Siddhesh S Kamat, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune.

iv.Dr Mahendran K.R, Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology, Thiruvananthapuram (RGCB).

v.Dr Basker Sundararaju, Indian Institute of Technology, (IIT) Kanpur.

Jury Members for Merck Young Scientist Awards 2019:

i.The head of Jury panel is Dr Shahid Jameel, Chief Executive Officer, The Welcome Trust / DBT India Alliance.

ii.The Co- Chair Members are Dr Anurag Agrawal, Director Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology, Prof Apurva Sarin, Director, Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, Dr Davinder Gill, Chief Executive Officer Hilleman Laboratories and Dr Radha Rangarajan, CEO, Co-Founder, Vitas Pharma.