Current Affairs PDF

India and Sri Lanka begin Joint Naval Exercise SLINEX 2017 at Visakhapatnam

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On 7th September 2017, the seventh edition of India-Sri Lanka joint maritime naval exercise SLINEX 2017 started near Vishakhapatnam district of Andhra Pradesh in India on the Bay of Bengal. It will last till 14th September 2017.

Naval ExerciseSLINEX:

  1. SLINEX – Sri Lanka India Naval Exercise are a series of naval exercises between the Indian Navy and the Sri Lankan Navy.
  2. SLINEX series of biennial bilateral maritime exercises between India and Sri Lanka, started in 2005.
  3. Its mandate is to enable navies of both countries to rehearse and improve their own capabilities and enhance operational effectiveness required to maintain maritime security in region.

SLINEX 2017:

  1. SLINEX 2017 focuses on fleet work, seamanship, communication, replenishment at sea, Visit Board Search and Seize (VBSS) operations and helicopter operations.
  2. Joint naval operations enable both Navies to rehearse and improve own capabilities and enhance operational effectiveness required to maintain maritime security in the region.
  3. The Indian Navy reflecting the long-existing bilateral relations extends its assistance to the Sri Lankan Navy, strengthening the bonds of friendship.
  4. Sri Lanka Navy’s offshore patrol vessels,SLNS Sayura and Sagara participate in this edition of biennial exercise.
  5. The ships left home shores from Trincomalee in Srilanka after a formal farewell in the presence of senior Naval officers including Commander Eastern Naval Area, Rear Admiral Nimal Sarathsena and Flag Officer Commanding the Naval Fleet, Rear Admiral Kapila Samaraweera.
  6. 368 Sri Lankan Naval personnel including 43 officers and 60 mid-shipmen are taking part in the Naval Exercise taking place from7th to 14th September 2017in Vishakapatnam.

About Srilanka:

  1. Capitals – Colombo, Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte
  2. Currency – Sri Lankan rupee
  3. President – Mr.Maithripala Sirisena
  4. Official languages – Sinhala, Tamil, English