Current Affairs PDF

ICICI Bank Chief Chanda Kochhar receives ‘Woodrow Wilson Award’ for global corporate citizenship

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Chanda Kochhar, the Managing Director and Chief Executive of ICICI Bank became the first Indian woman to be conferred with the prestigious Woodrow Wilson Award for Global Corporate Citizenship. The award was conferred by Woodrow Wilson Centre on May 10, 2017 in Washington DC, US. Ms. Kochhar received this award for demonstrating a commitment to the common good beyond the bottom line.

Brief Biography of Chanda Kochhar:

Chanda Kochhar was born in 1961 in Jodhpur, Rajasthan.She completed graduation in 1982 in Mumbai. Thereafter she studied cost accountancy and later acquired master’s degree in management studies from Jamnalal Bajaj Institute of Management Studies in Mumbai.

  • She joined the Industrial Credit and Investment Corporation of India (ICICI) as management trainee.
  • Kochhar was appointed as one of the core team members who were assigned the ICICI Bank Chief Chanda Kochhar receives 'Woodrow Wilson Award' for global corporate citizenshipresponsibility of setting up ICICI Bank in 1993.
  • From 1993 to 2009, she headed several important divisions of ICICI Bank.
  • She was appointed as was appointed as managing director (MD) and chief executive officer (CEO) of ICICI Bank in 2009.
  • As MD and CEO of ICICI Bank, she played instrumental role in strengthening the retail franchise, improved technological innovation in banking and helped to expand opportunities for women.

About Woodrow Wilson Award:

Woodrow Wilson Awards are given in public sphere and business to those individuals who have shown outstanding commitment to Woodrow Wilson’s (Former President of United States) dream of integrating politics, scholarship, and policy for the common good.

  • These awards were instituted in year 1999 to recognise public servants and corporate leaders in US. In 2001 the awards were expanded to include leaders across the world.
  • Naryana Murthy, the co-founder of IT major Infosys and former Indian President and Scientist APJ Abdul Kalam are other Indians who have received this award in the past.
  • 2017 Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service has been conferred on United States Senator, Mitch McConnell.