Current Affairs PDF

ICC Awards 2015 announced

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the winners for the 2015 ICC Awards in Dubai, UAE to honour the biggest names in men’s and women’s international cricket.

  • The awards were based on performance of individuals and teams, both men and women, between 18 September 2014 and 13 September 2015.
  • Each award is voted by a specially selected panel, respected members of the media and an elite umpire and match referee.

Here is the list of winners

Cricketer of the YearSteven Smith (Australia)
ICC Test Cricketer of the YearSteven Smith (Australia)
ICC ODI Cricketer of the YearAB de Villiers (South Africa)
ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the YearMeg Lanning (Australia)
ICC Emerging Cricketer of the YearJosh Hazlewood (Australia)
ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the YearKhurram Khan (UAE)
ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the YearFaf du Plessis (South Africa)
ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the YearStafanie Taylor (West Indies)
David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the YearRichard Kettleborough
ICC Spirit of Cricket AwardBrendon McCullum (New Zealand)

Among the 10 awards announced, the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year were conferred on Australian captain Steve Smith.

  • With this, Smith became the 4th Australian (Earlier Ricky Ponting, Mitchell Johnson & Michael Clarke) and 11th overall to win the prestigious award named after former West Indies cricketer Sir Garfield Sobers.

ICC Awards 2015 announceThe ICC Awards has been institutionalised by International Cricket Council since 2004.