Current Affairs PDF

HRIDAY – National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The government of India is planning to launch a scheme (HRIDAY) for conservation of heritage and development of 12 cities across the country. The government has allocated Rs. 500 crore in the Union Budget 2014 and it will be rolled out in January 2015.

Under this scheme, 12 cities will be covered under the National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY). The 12 cities are,

  • Amritsar
  • Varanasi
  • Gaya
  • Puri
  • Ajmer
  • Mathura
  • Dwarka
  • Badami
  • Velankanni
  • Kanchipuram
  • Warangal
  • Amaravati

The Yojana aims to bring urban planning, economic growth and heritage conservation together for heritage cities. The scheme will involve a partnership between the government, academic institutions and local communities, combining affordable technologies. It also seeks beautification in an inclusive and integrated manner with focus on cleanliness, livelihoods, skills, safety, security, accessibility and faster service delivery of heritage cities.