Current Affairs PDF

Himanta Biswa Sarma becomes 15th Chief Minister of Assam

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Himanta Biswa Sarma takes oath as 15th chief minister of AssamOn May 10, 2021,Himanta Biswa Sarma was sworn in as the 15th  Chief Minister of Assam. He has replaced Sarbananda Sonowal. Both the candidates are from BJP(Bharatiya Janata Party).

  • He was administered the oath by Governor Jagdish Mukhi.


Based on Article 164 the Governor appoints the Chief Minister.

Key points:

  • BJP-led NDA(National Democratic Alliance) secured a comfortable majority in Assam winning 75 seats of the total 126 constituencies.

About Himanta Biswa Sarma:

i.He has served three terms as an MLA in Assam belonging to Indian National Congress. He was elected from Jalukbari in 2001 and was re-elected in 2006 and 2011.

ii.In May 2016, he won Jalukbari constituency for the fourth consecutive term and was sworn in as Cabinet Minister and has been allotted portfolios like Finance, Health & Family Welfare, Education, Planning & Development, Tourism, Pension & Public Grievances

iii.On 23 April 2017, he was elected as President of Badminton Association of India.

iv.He has also been the president of the Assam Badminton Association and the president of the Assam Cricket Association.

About Assam:

Capital: Dispur
Governor: Jagdish Mukhi