Current Affairs PDF

Highlights of 4th G20 DEWG & G20 DIA Summit held in Bengaluru

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The 4th G20 Digital Economy Working Group (DEWG) is organized by MeitY on August 16-17, in BengaluruThe 4th and the Final meeting of the G20 (Group of Twenty) Digital Economy Working Group (DEWG), organized by Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) as a part of the India’s G20 Presidency, was held in Bengaluru, Karnataka from August 16-17, 2023.

  • It was formally opened by the Chair of G20 DEWG Alkesh Kumar Sharma, Secretary, MeitY, and was addressed by co-chair of G20 DEWG Sushil Pal, Joint Secretary, MeitY.


i.Detailed deliberations on the draft “G20 Digital Economy Ministerial Declaration” were held regarding the priority areas: Digital Public Infrastructure, Security in the Digital Economy, and Digital Skilling.

ii.The declaration for the consideration and acceptance in the Digital Economy Ministerial Meeting (DEMM) was undertaken.

iii.Various issues relating to digital information, service delivery to citizens and growth of the digital economy were discussed..

iv.A joint statement on the outcome summarizing the agreement on the challenges and opportunities of digital economies were issued.


i.The first, second and third meetings of the DEWG were organised at Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh), Hyderabad (Telangana) and Pune (Maharashtra) in February 2023, April 2023, and June 2023 respectively.

ii.India is hosting the Presidency of the G20 from December 1, 2022 to November 30, 2023 on the theme ‘Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam – One Earth One Family One Future’.

Priority Areas:

G20 DEWG has identified three priority areas

  • Digital Public Infrastructure.
  • Security in the Digital Economy.
  • Digital Skilling.


Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnav, Ministry of Railways and the Union Minister of State (MoS) Rajeev Chandrasekhar, MeitY; Over 100 delegates from G20 members, nine invited countries, and five international organizations: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), International Telecommunication Union (ITU), United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), World Bank, and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) attended the meeting.

G20 Digital Innovation Alliance (DIA) Summit 

MeitY and the MeitY Start-up Hub have organized the G20 Digital Innovation Alliance (DIA) Summit at the Bangalore Palace in Bengaluru (Karnataka) from August 17th to 19th, 2023.

  • The summit was inaugurated by the MoS Rajeev Chandrasekhar, MeitY.

The focal theme of the event is ‘Driving Digital Innovation for World Economies’.

  • The theme highlights the importance of harnessing the power of Digital Innovation to propel economic growth, foster sustainable development and address global challenges.

Key Points:

i.The summit had an exhibition, comprising of Startups, Incubators, Accelerators, Corporates, State Governments, etc.

ii.More than 110 startups from 24 countries participated in the summit including policymakers, business leaders, technocrats, young innovators, and investors.

iii.The G20 DIA showcases innovative solutions in the digital innovation space and foster collaboration. Its objective is to support start-ups developing innovative digital solutions that bridge the digital divide and propel global economic growth.

Recent Related News:

i.On 26th July 2023, Prime Minister (PM) Narendra Modi inaugurated a futuristic International Exhibition-cum- Convention Centre (IECC), the revamped India Trade Promotion Organisation (ITPO) complex also known as Pragati Maidan Complex, and also unveiled the G20(Group of 20) coin and stamp at Pragati Maidan in New Delhi, Delhi.

ii.On July 20, 2023, Avaada Group signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with REC Limited (formerly Rural Electrification Corporation Limited) under which the latter will invest Rs 20,000 crore in Avaada Group over the next five years. This MoU was inked on the sidelines of the 4th meeting of the G20 Energy Transition Working Group (ETWG) in Goa.

About Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY):
Union Minister – Ashwini Vaishnaw (Rajya Sabha, Odisha)
Minister of State (MoS) – Rajeev Chandrasekhar (Rajya Sabha, Karnataka)