Current Affairs PDF

Highlights of 2nd edition of Sportstar Aces awards 2020 ceremony held in Mumbai, Maharashtra

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On January 12, 2020, The 2nd edition of Sportstar Aces Awards 2020 was held at the Trident Hotel in Mumbai, Maharashtra consisting of 23 different categories of awards for India’s sportspersons.Key Points:

i.The winners have been picked by a panel headed by cricket legend Sunil Gavaskar, and included THG (The Hindu Group) Publishing Private Limited chairman N. Ram, former India hockey captain M.M. Somaya, Olympians Anjali Bhagwat, Aparna Popat and chess legend Viswanathan Anand.

ii.Sri Ramachandra Institute of Higher Education and Research in in Chennai, Tamil Nadu (TN) has won the Best University for the Promotion of Sports.

List of winners:


S.No Award Winner
1 Sportstar of the Year Award Pusarla Venkata (PV) Sindhu- Badminton
2 Lifetime Achievement Award Kapil Dev Ram Lal Nikhanj (former Indian cricketer)
3 Chairman’s Choice Award Steve Smith of Australia-Cricket
4 Coach of the Year Badminton coach Pullela Gopichand & chess coach R. B. Ramesh
5 Sportsman of the Year (Cricket) Rohit Sharma
6 Sportswoman of the Year (Cricket) Smriti Mandhana
7 Sportswoman of the Year (Team Sports)  Deep Grace Ekka- Hockey
8 Sportsman of the Year (Team Sports) Manpreet Singh – Hockey
9 Young Athlete of the Year (Female) Mehuli Ghosh-shooter
10 Young Athlete of the Year (Male) Rameshbabu Praggnanandhaa (chess) & Esow Alben(Cyclist)
11 Sportstar Team of the Year Indian Test cricket team
12 Special Recognition Award Leander Paes- Tennis
13 Best State for the Promotion of Sports. Odisha (For the 2nd  time)
14 Sportsman of the Year (Individual Sport) Bajrang Punia -wrestling
15 Sportswoman of the Year (Individual Sport) award Koneru Humpy(Chess) & Apurvi Chandela (Shooting)
16 Special Jury Award Pankaj Advani ( Billiards and snooker player)
17 Best PSU(Public Sector Undertaking) /Corporate House for the Promotion of Sports Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOCL)
18 Sportsman of the Year (Racquet Sport) Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth (Badminton )
19 Sportswoman of the Year (Racquet Sports) Pusarla Venkata (PV) Sindhu- Badminton
20 Sportsman of the Year (Track and Field) Avinash Sable (Athlete)
21 Sportswoman of the Year (Track and Field) Annu Rani (Javelin thrower )
22 Sportsman of the Year (Parasports) Pramod Bhagat (Para Shuttler)
23 Sportswoman of the Year (Parasports) Ekta Bhyan (para athlete)