Current Affairs PDF

Overview of 2020 Mexican open held in Acapulco, Mexico from Feb 24-29

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The 2020 Mexican Open officially known as Abierto Mexicano Telcel (AMT) presentado por HSBC (Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation), a lawn tennis tournament was held at Acapulco Princess Mundo Imperial Hard, Acapulco, Mexico between 24 and 29 February 2020. It was played on Outdoor Hard Court Surface. It was the 27th edition of men’s Mexican Open and 20th for the women with a prize money of ATP (Association of Tennis Professionals) $1,789,445 (USD) & WTA (Women’s Tennis Association) $ 250,000 (USD). The tournament was consisted of two categories ATP 500 & WTA International.[su_table]

2020 Mexican Open Winners

CategoryWinnerRunner Up
Men’s SinglesRafael Nadal Parera (Spain)Taylor Harry Fritz (America)
Women’s SinglesHeather Miriam Watson (United Kingdom)Leylah Annie Fernandez (Canada)
Men’s DoublesŁukasz Kubot (Poland) & Marcelo Pinheiro Davi de Melo (Brazil)Juan Sebastian Cabal Valdes (Colombo) & Robert Charbel Farah Maksoud (Colombo)
Women’s DoublesDesirae Marie Krawczyk (America) & Giuliana Marion Olmos Dick (Mexico)Kateryna Volodymyrivna Bondarenko (Ukraine) & Sharon Fichman (Canada)


Here are the Key Highlights:

Rafael Nadal clinched the 85th ATP Tour title defeating Taylor Fritz
Rafael Nadal (33) clinched the 85th ATP Tour title defeating Taylor Fritz in the final, 6–3, 6–2. He won the ATP 500 title for the third time and first since the event changed from clay to hard-court in 2014. It was his first title of 2020. He is a 19-time grand slam champion. Only Jimmy Connors (109), Roger Federer (103) and Ivan Lendl (94) have won more ATP Tour titles than Nadal’s 85 in the Open Era.

Heather Watson wins 4th WTA Tour title by defeating Leylah
Heather Watson grabbed her 4th WTA Tour title by defeating Leylah Fernandez (17) 6-4 6-7 (8-10) 6-1 in the final of WTA International event of Mexican Open 2020. This was her first WTA Tour title in four years since winning the Monterrey Open in March 2016.

Point to be noted: At 17-years-old, Leylah Fernandez becomes the youngest and first Canadaian finalist in Acapulco history defeating Renata Zarazúa Ruckstuhl of Mexico 6-3, 6-3.

Lukasz Kubot & Brazil Marcelo Me won 13th ATP Tour team doubles title
The pair of Poland’s Lukasz Kubot & Brazil’s Marcelo Me defeated top seeds Juan Sebastian Cabal/Robert Farah 7-6(6), 6-7(4), 11-9 to clinch the doubles title at Mexican Open 2020. Kubot/Melo picked up their 13th ATP Tour team doubles title and the first of 2020 season. Lukasz also reached another milestone by picking up his 400th tour-level doubles victory. He accomplished the feat in their semi-final win against Nikola Cacic/Dusan Lajovic.

Desirae Krawczyk & Mexico Giuliana Olmos won Women’s Doubles of Mexico Pen 2020
Desirae Krawczyk and Giuliana Olmos won the title by defeating Kateryna Bondarenko and Sharon Fichman in the final, 6–3, 7–6(7–5).

Point to be noted: Giuliana Olmos made history, and became the first Mexican player to win the Abierto Mexicano Telcel.