Current Affairs PDF

Harsh Vardhan Participated Virtually in the SCO Health Minister’s Digital Meet chaired by Mikhail Murashko

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Health Minister's Digital MeetOn July 24, 2020 Union Minister of Health and Family Welfare, Harsh Vardhan participated digitally in the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Health Minister’s Digital Meet at Nirman Bhawan, Delhi. The meet was chaired by Mikhail Murashko, Minister of Health of the Russian Federation.

  • The key topic discussed in the meet was about the ongoing COVID crisis.

Statements made by Harsh Vardhan

i.Harsh Vardhan proposed to set up a Sub-Group on Traditional Medicine under the existing Institutional Meetings of the SCO Health Ministers to discuss cooperation in Traditional Medicine.

ii.This proposal will fulfil the WHO Traditional Medicine Strategy 2014-2023.

iii.This will also strengthen the effective implementation of the Joint Statement on cooperation in combating epidemics signed at the Qingdao Summit in 2018.

Information technology used virtually in COVID-19 management

i.Aarogya Setu app and ITIHAS, a cellular-based tracking technology, is used for the purpose of surveillance and identification of potential clusters of disease.

ii.RT-PCR app is used for testing.

Recent Related News:

i.Union HRD Minister Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ virtually participated in G20 Extraordinary Virtual Education Ministers’ Meeting which was focused on the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on the education sector.

ii.India Attend 32nd Virtual special Eurasian Group on Combating Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (EAG) plenary meeting 2020 Chaired by EAG Chairman Mr. Yury Chikhanchin

About SCO:
Headquarters– Beijing, China
Secretary-General- Vladimir Norov
Member Countries – 8 Countries (Republic of India, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People’s Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, and the Republic of Uzbekistan)