Current Affairs PDF

Govt Awarded Swarnajayanti Fellowships 2020-2021 to 17 Scientists

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here


The Government of India has awarded the Swarnajayanti Fellowships Scheme 2020-2021 for innovative research ideas to 17 scientists from scientific institutions across India. The fellowship recognises the potential of the scientists in creating an impact on the Research and Development(R&D) in different disciplines.

  • The awardees under the scheme are facilitated by the Department of Science & Technology(DST), under the Ministry of Science and Technology.

About the Swarnajayanti Fellowships:

i.The Swarnajayanti Fellowship scheme was instituted in 1997 by the government of India to commemorate the 50th year of Independence.

ii.Under this scheme, the young scientists who have a proven track record will be provided with special assistance and support to enable them to pursue basic research in frontier areas of science and technology.

Duration: The duration of the fellowship will not exceed 5 years.

Support under the scheme:

i.Under the scheme, the awardees will receive a fellowship of Rs 25000 per month for a period of 5 years and grants for equipment, computational facilities, consumables, contingencies, national and international travel and other special requirements, are also covered based on merit.

ii.DST also supports the awardees by giving them a research grant of 5 lakh Rupees for 5 years.

iii.The fellows and their projects will be considered for funding by the Science & Engineering Research Board (SERB).

Note: The support is provided in addition to the salary they draw from the parent Institute.

Awardees of the Swarnajayanti Fellowships Scheme 2020-2021




Dr Siddhesh S. KamatIndian Institute of Science Education & Research – Punelife science
Dr Sridharan DevarajanIndian Institute of Science –  Bengalurulife science
Dr Niti KumarCSIR-Central Drug Research Institute – Lucknowlife science
Dr Nitin GuptaIndian Institute of Technology – Kanpurlife science
Dr Modhu Sudan MajiIndian Institute of Technology Kharagpur – KharagpurChemical Science.
Dr Sakya Singha SenCSIR – National Chemical Laboratory – PuneChemical Science
Dr Chandramouli SubramaniamIndian Institute of Technology – BombayChemical Science
Dr Atul Abhay Dixit Indian Institute of Technology – GandhinagarMathematical Science
Dr Mousomi BhaktaIndian Institute of Science Education and Research – PuneMathematical Science
Dr Ujjwal KoleyTata Institute of  Fundamental Research (TIFR)Mathematical Science
Dr Arvind SinghPhysical Research Laboratory – AhmedabadEarth & Atmospheric Science.
Dr Subhro BhattacharjeeInternational Centre for Theoretical Sciences (ICTS-TIFR) – BengaluruPhysical Science
Dr Pabitra Kumar NayakTata Institute of Fundamental Research(TIFR) – HyderabadPhysical Science
Dr Shamik BanerjeeInstitute of Physics – BhubaneswarPhysical Science
Dr Rishi RajIndian Institute of Technology – PatnaEngineering Science
Dr Mayank Shrivastava,Indian Institute of Science – BengaluruEngineering Science
Dr Amartya MukhopadhyayIndian Institute of Technology -BombayEngineering Science

Click here to know more about the awardees

Recent Related News:

Binoy Kumar Saikia, a senior scientist at CSIR-North East Institute of Science and Technology (CSIR-NEIST), Jorhat, Assam, has won the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (SSB) for Science and Technology 2021 for his pioneering research in the field of coal and energy.

About Ministry of Science and Technology:

Minister of State (Independent Charge)– Dr Jitendra Singh (Constituency-  Udhampur, Jammu and Kashmir)