Current Affairs PDF

Govt appoints 3 information commissioners in CIC

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The NDA led Centre appointed three retired civil servants as Information Commissioner of Central Information Commission they are,

  1. Amitava Bhattacharyya (IAS) -Gujarat -1980.
  2. Bimal Julka    (IAS) -Madhya Pradesh -1979.
  3. Divya Prakash Sinha (IPS) -Manipur -1979.


The officiates will serve for a term of five years from the date on which they attain the age of 65 Years , whichever is earlier as in the provisions of Right to Information Act 2005.

  • There was vacancy of three information commissioners against its total strength of 10, the new appointees will fill the vacancy in CIC.
  • The selection panel led by the Prime Minister appointed the commissioners.

Central Information Commission:

  • The Central Information Commission set up under the Right to Information Act established in 2005 it is governed by Government of India.
  • The Commission shall have 10 information Commissioners and headed by Chief Information Commissioner who are appointed by President of India.

Right to Information Act:

  • Having passed eight years of implementation of the RTI Act is itself an important tool in Handling corruption and inefficiency in the government.