Current Affairs PDF

Government of Andhra Pradesh Announces Renewable Energy Export Policy 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Andhra Pradesh announces Renewable Energy Export PolicyOn 17th July 2020, The State Government of Andhra Pradesh(AP) announced the Andhra Pradesh Renewable Energy Export Policy 2020, which permits the sale of power to the other states of India. The policy will be in force for the five years.

Aim of the policy:

To utilize the unused potential and to attract private investments to boost the economy and to generate additional revenue to the government.

Nodal Agency:

i.To implement the projects the New and Renewable Energy Development Corporation of AP Limited (NREDCAP), will be the nodal agency under the new export policy 2020.

ii.The NREDCAP, will allocate the renewable energy resource potentials to the developers on a first come first serve basis through online application.

iii.The developers planning to set up energy export projects with manufacturing facilities will be given priority.

Features of AP Renewable Energy Export Policy 2020:

i.The Export policy of 2020 facilitates the establishment of solar, wind and solar-wind hybrid projects of capacity up to 120 Giga Watts(GW) and renewable energy equipment manufacturing facilities in the state.

ii.The power generated from these projects will be exported to other states.

iii.The power distribution companies do not have any obligations to procure the power generated under this policy.

iv.Under this policy the hourly, intra-day, daily, weekly, monthly or yearly basis banking and withdrawal of energy are not prohibited.


i.Besides the regular incentives under the industrial promotion policies, the developers seeking to establish equipment manufacturing facilities or ancillary facilities related to renewable energy will be given additional incentives since they contribute to the development of the state’s economy in addition to creating employment.

ii.The developers will get an exemption from the payment of electricity duty for 10 years from the date of the beginning of manufacturing activities.

About Andhra Pradesh:
Chief Minister– Yeduguri Sandinti Jaganmohan Reddy
Governor– Biswa Bhusan Harichandan 
Capital– Amaravati

Recent Related News:

i.Andhra Pradesh CM rolls out ‘CMAPP’ to monitor farming needs

ii.AP govt forms 5-member panel headed by Neerabh Kumar Prasad to probe Vizag gas leak.