Current Affairs PDF

Government Expands SCALE Committee with 3 New Members

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Govt-expands-SCALE-committee,-appoints-3-new-membersThe government has expanded the Steering Committee for Advancing Local Value-Add and Exports (SCALE committee) by adding three new members from different industries.
New Members:
1.Manish Sharma, Panasonic India Chairman and CEO
2.Vikram S Kirloskar, Toyota Kirloskar Vice-Chairman
3.Jalaj Dani, Asian Paints co-promoter and Chairman Addverb Technologies
About SCALE Committee:
i.The SCALE Committee is formed by the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, working closely with the Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT) under Ministry’s guidance.
ii.It has given a push to the production-linked incentive (PLI) scheme, which enables domestic manufacturing of goods.

  • The government has allocated Rs 1.97 lakh crore to 13 key sectors in the Union Budget 2021-22 for PLI scheme.

Note The minimum additional production in India over the next five years is expected to be around Rs 37.5 lakh crore in sectors such as white goods (Air Conditioners and Light Emitting Diodes), auto components, pharmaceuticals drugs, specialty steel, and telecom & networking products.
Current Members of SCALE Committee:
i.Current Members – 14  (Headed by former Mahindra CEO Pawan Goenka)
ii.Board Members – The board members of SCALE Committee also include Deepak Bagla, Invest India CEO , Salil Singhal, PI Industries CMD, and Sehshagiri Rao, JSW Steel Group CFO.
iii.The Members of the SCALE committee are from The Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry (FICCI), The Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), The Associated Chambers of Commerce and Industry of India (ASSOCHAM) and officials from commerce and other ministries.

About Ministry of Commerce and Industry:
Union Minister – Piyush Goyal (Constituency – Maharashtra) 
Minister of State –  Som Parkash (Constituency – Hoshiarpur, Punjab), Anupriya Singh Patel (Constituency – Mirzapur, Uttar Pradesh)