Current Affairs PDF

Government announced list of awardees of National Sports Awards – 2017

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On August 22, 2017 Our Government announced the list of awardees of National Sports Awards 2017. National Sports Awards are distributed every year to recognize excellence in sports.

Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice C.K. Thakkar. Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Shri Pullela Gopichand.
Types of National Sports Awards:-

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year.
  • Arjuna Award is for consistency outstanding performance for four years
  • Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at International sports events.
  • Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development.national sports awards 2017

The awardees will be received their awards from the President of India at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2017.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will received statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each.
Name of Awardees selected for National sports award 2017

(i) Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2017

Name of the Awardee Fields
Shri Devendra Para Athlete
Shri Sardar Singh Hockey

(ii) Dronacharya Awards 2017

Name of the Awardee Fields
Late Dr. R. Gandhi Athletics
Mr. Heera Nand Kataria Kabaddi
Mr. G.S.S.V. Prasad Badminton (Lifetime)
Mr. Brij Bhushan Mohanty Boxing (Lifetime)
Mr. P.A. Raphel Hockey (Lifetime)
Mr. Sanjoy Chakraverthy Shooting (Lifetime)
Mr. Roshan Lal Wrestling (Lifetime

(iii) Dhyan Chand Award

Name of the Awardee Fields
Mr. Bhupender Singh Athletics
Mr. Syed Shahid Hakim Football
Ms. Sumarai Tete Hockey

(iv) Arjuna Awards 2017

Name of the Awardees Fields
Ms. V.J. Surekha Archery
Ms. Khushbir Kaur Athletics
Mr. Arokia Rajiv Athletics
Ms. Prasanthi Singh Basketball
Sub. LaishramDebendro Singh Boxing
Mr. CheteshwarPujara Cricket
Ms. Harmanpreet Kaur Cricket
Ms. OinamBembem Devi Football
Mr. S.S.P. Chawrasia Golf
Mr. S.V. Sunil Hockey
Mr. Jasvir Singh Kabaddi
Mr. P. N. Prakash Shooting
Mr. A. Amalraj Table Tennis
Mr. SakethMyneni Tennis
Mr. SatyawartKadian Wrestling
Mr. Mariyappan Para-Athlete
Mr. Varun Singh Bhati Para-Athlete