Current Affairs PDF

G20 launches W20 grouping for gender inclusive economic growth

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

World’s 20 largest economies including India recognised the need to incorporate  women-leaders in global economic growth and in this regard launched W20 to push gender inclusiveness-global economic growth.

  • 1st Summit of W20 (i.e Group of 20 women leaders from G20 nations) will be hosted next month in  Istanbul,Turkey , after all the member countries completes appointing their nominees for W20.
  •  Gulden Turktan,the 1st president of W20 asked all the countries of G20 to nominate their members for w20 on this event.

List of G20 Nations (Group of 20 major economies):

  1. Argentina
  2. Australia
  3. Brazil
  4. Canada
  5. China
  6. European Union
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. India
  10. Indonesia
  11. Italy
  12. Japan
  13. Mexico
  14. Russia
  15. Saudi Arabia
  16. South Korea
  17. South Africa
  18. the United Kingdom
  19. the United States
  20. Turkey

The Event-launch was addressed by:

  • Christine Lagarde,Managing Director IMF
  • Angel Gurria,Secretary-General of OECD(Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development)
  • Lakshmi Puri, Assistant Secretary-General for Intergovernmental Support and Strategic Partnerships at the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women.
  • Arancha Gonzalez,Executive Director of International Trade Center

Statements of officials in this regard:

  • On this event,Ahmet Davutoglu,PM of Turkey said that By the smile of women, prosperity of a nation can be understood and it is prominent to empower them in economic growth.
  • Gulden Turktan,the 1st president of W20 said that, it would work as an outreach group and seek to promote gender inclusiveness in economic growth process by empowering women.
  • Lakshmi Puri, Deputy Executive Director of UN Women said that the government leaders comprising ministers can also be the part of this group.
  • Venue of  this event:  Ankara, Capital of Turkey     
  • Host: Ahmet Davutoglu, Prime Minister of Turkey