Current Affairs PDF

Former Union Minister Vijay Sampla Assumed Charge as Chairman of National Commission for Scheduled Castes

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Vijay Sampla assumes charge of Chairman National Commission for Scheduled CastesOn February 24, 2021 Former Union Minister Vijay Sampla assumed charge as chairman of 6th National Commission for Scheduled Castes(NCSC) in New Delhi, Delhi. He was appointed by President of India, Ram Nath Kovind.

Prior to him, Prof.(Dr.) Ram Shankar Katheria was the chairman of NCSC, whose term ended in May 2020.

Others in 6th Commision:

Vice Chairman– Arun Halder
Member– Subhash Ramnath Pardhi, Anju Bala

About National Commission for Scheduled Castes(NCSC)

Thawar Chand Gehlot, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment is the responsible Minister for NCSC.


To protect the  Scheduled Castes and Anglo Indian communities against exploitation and to promote and safeguard their social, educational, economic and cultural interests, special provisions were made in the Constitution.


By amending the Constitution (89th Amendment) Act, 2003, the erstwhile National Commission for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes was replaced by two separate Commissions namely- (i) NCSC (ii) National Commission for Scheduled Tribes (NCST).

Indian Constitution

Article 338 of the Indian constitution deals with NCSC and Article 338 A deals with NCST


The first National Commission for Scheduled Castes was constituted in 2004 with Suraj Bhan as the chairman.
Headquarters– New Delhi, Delhi

About Vijay Sampla

i.He served as Union Minister of State for Social Justice & Empowerment from 09th November, 2014 to 24th May 2019. He is from  ‘Hoshiarpur’(Punjab) Constituency of Lok Sabha.

ii.He served as the Chairman of Punjab Dalit Vikas Parishad, Bharat Gaurav and  Khadi and Village Indusries Board, Punjab.

iii.He was president of the BJP Punjab unit.

Recent Related News:

On January 1, 2021 Soma Mondal took charge as the chairman of Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL). She becomes the 1st woman chairperson of SAIL. She succeeds Anil Kumar Chaudhary who superannuated on December 31, 2020.