Current Affairs PDF

Flipkart Signs MoU with Government of Karnataka to Promote Local Arts, Crafts And Handlooms

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Flipkart signs MoU with Karnataka govtOn 10th July 2020, Flipkart and the Department of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (MSME) and Mines of Government of Karnataka signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) under Flipkart Samarth Programme to promote the arts, crafts and handloom sector of Karnataka by providing market access through  e-commerce platform and to increase the local business.

Features of MoU:

i.The MoU focuses on increasing the business and trade inclusion opportunities by creating avenues for these underserved sectors like crafts, arts and handloom, contributing towards the efforts of Made in India.

ii.This MoU will unite the Flipkart Samarth Programme with the brands based in Karnataka like Cauvery and Priyadarshini Handlooms, part of Karnataka Handlooms Development Corporations.

iii.This will benefit the MSME through skills of branding, digital marketing and financial management and showcase the high quality products which are made by local artisans.

iv.This will promote the local handlooms and handicrafts to the consumers across the nation.

Samarth Programme of Flipkart:

i.The programme benefits the artisans with extended time bound incubation support.

ii.The benefits of the programme includes onboarding, free cataloguing, ,marketing, account management and business insights and warehouse support.

iii.Flipkart’s Samarth works with Non-governmental organisations(NGOs) and government bodies to support the large number of entrepreneurs in the rural areas, enterprises led by women, differently abled people, artisans and weavers with the issues related to the access of working capital, poor infrastructure and training.

iv.The programme supports more than 5lakh artisans, weavers, and MSME units across the nation.

About Flipkart:
Chief Executive Officer (CEO)– Kalyan Krishnamurthy 
Chief Operating Officer (COO)– Sriram Venkataraman
Head Office– Bengaluru, Karnataka

About Karnataka:
Chief Minister– B. S. Yediyurappa
Governor– Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala
Capital– Bengaluru