Current Affairs PDF

First-Time MLA Bhajan Lal Sharma Sworn in as 14th CM of Rajasthan

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Bhajan Lal Sharma of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), a 1st-time Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) elected from the Sanganer Constituency, sworn in as the 14th Chief Minister (CM) of Rajasthan.

  • Rajasthan Governor Kalraj Mishra administered oath of office and secrecy to Bhajan Lal Sharma in the event held in Jaipur, Rajasthan.
  • Bhajan Lal Sharma replaced Indian National Congress (INC) leader Ashok Gehlot, who served as the CM of Rajasthan for 3 terms from 1998-2003, 2008-2013, and 2018-2023.

Other Noted Appointments: 

i.Diya Kumari and Prem Chand Bairwa were sworn in as the Deputy CMs of Rajasthan during the event.

ii.Vasudev Devnani has been appointed as the speaker of Rajasthan State Assembly.

Key People:

Prime Minister(PM) Narendra Modi, Union Minister Amit Shah, Ministry of Home Affairs(MoHA); Union Minister Rajnath Singh, Ministry of Defence (MoD) among others were also present at the event.

Assembly Election:

i.In the Rajasthan assembly elections held in November 2023, BJP won 115 out of the 199 seats against INC, which secured 69 seats.

ii.Bharat Adivasi Party won 3 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party won 2 seats, Rashtriya Lok Dal and Rashtriya Loktantrik Party won 1 seat each.

  • 8 independent candiates have won the election.

About Bhajan Lal Sharma:

i.Bhajan Lal Sharma hailing from Bharatpur district has a political career of over 34 years.

ii.He was associated with the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the student wing of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS).

iii.Later he joined the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, the youth wing of BJP.

iv.He has held several key posts like state vice president and state general secretary of BJP.

About Rajasthan:
Chief Minister – Bhajan Lal Sharma
Governor– Kalraj Mishra
Festivals– Udaipur Mewar Festival (March/April) and BrajHoli (March)